Nudist beaches?

hanauma-1GIGI-A

Hanauma Bay:  Me, David, and Maria (1981).  No, this is not a nudist beach.

How do you feel about nudist beaches?  Are you for or against having them in Hawaii?  Personally, I am against them, because seeing nude people at the beach would disturb me.  Maybe, it’s my Roman Catholic upbringing, but I would feel uncomfortable displaying my own body for scrutiny.

I remember body surfing with a friend at Bellows Beach when I was 19 or 20.  The surf was pretty rough, so rough that when I stood up the waves dragged my top down and exposed my breasts.  I struggled to pull the top back up, before people could laugh at me.  It took a good 30 seconds before I succeeded.  That was the last time I body surfed at Bellows.

So if I was embarrassed to show my chest, imagine how I’d feel about showing the rest of my body.  Besides, how would one prevent sand from entering one’s private parts?

When David and I traveled to Croatia in 1990, we decided to visit a nearby lake and waterfall.  While there, we saw a young woman who was topless and wearing just a thong, which revealed her buttocks.  She was very pretty and well-developed.  Although she was the only one who was topless, she wasn’t self-conscious.  David couldn’t keep his eyes off her.

Ironically, the Croatian men all stared at ME – even though I was fully dressed in long pants and a shirt, since I had not packed a swimsuit.  I guess the reason for all that staring was that I was the only Asian there.

Anyway, I am a prude.  To me, nudity belongs only in one’s home or in the hospital.

Red white blue flowers 012-A

Red, white and blue flowers on my dining table:  Happy Memorial Day!

8 Responses to “Nudist beaches?”

  1. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    The problem with nudist beaches is that most people have a less than perfect body. I don’t care if privately owned areas are set aside for nudist beaches, as long as they are fenced off from the view of outsiders. But would argue against any public beaches being converted. Too many people are offended by nudity, and they pay taxes too. Plus, many adults don’t want their children exposed. to other folks nudity.

  2. Joanne Noragon Says:

    My problem with nudist beaches is the nudity. It does belong at home.

  3. Olga Says:

    I have no problem with nude beaches really, but not in places where the public can be taken by surprise. My personal choice is to keep myself covered though.

  4. Christine Says:

    Happy Memorial Day weekend! I’ve never been to a nudist beach, it can’t be a pretty sight, I’m thinking.

  5. DJan Says:

    It is all a matter of upbringing and perspective, I think. It’s nice to see nude perfect bodies, otherwise, not so much. 🙂

  6. DeniseinVA Says:

    I think it is how you were brought up. I was from a very loving but Victorian household. I am very self-conscious of nudity. I remember going to the swimming pool and seeing a friend who didn’t worry about stripping down to the buff but I had to turn away because it embarrassed me. There were others in the changing room who did the same. Yes, way too inhibited. They certainly didn’t care that they had less that stellar bodies. My sister once took me to a swimming area in Europe, no one had clothes on and no one stared at each other, it’s not a big deal and quite natural. Now, when you see all these fabulous statues around the world, the kind that were done in Michelangelo’s time for instance, no problem. The human form is and should be considered a beautiful thing, no matter what shape you are. Alas, I’m definitely not in that category. The Victorian era is alive and well in this soul.

  7. Beatrice P Boyd Says:

    While I have never been to or seen a nudist beach, they would be OK with me if there was privacy for those who wishes to partake and to shield those who didn’t. A good friend used to go to a judist beach in NJ and thankfully never invited me to go with her.

  8. Beatrice P Boyd Says:

    whoops meant nudist beach…fingers worked faster than brain

Leave a Reply

