Flu vaccine?

12-1-09-Peter at Rockpile-A

Photo by Ted Trimmer.

Well, guess who has the flu now?  Me.  David started his on Wednesday, and on Saturday I started coughing and feeling feverish and headachy.

The best remedy is Nyquil.  That stuff quells the coughing and reduces fever.  I recommend it highly.

However, I must be feeling better, because I remembered to water the crotons, pay a bill, and launder the table cloth.  Now, if I can only find the energy to sweep the driveway…

This attack of the flu makes me wonder if I should have the annual flu shot.  I rarely get this sick.  I think the last time was ten years ago.  I have never had the flu shot and managed to do quite well until this episode.

So, what do you think?  Do you find that the flu vaccine prevents the flu?

14 Responses to “Flu vaccine?”

  1. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Knock on wood I have had the flu once, decades ago. Never wanted to go through that again, so I have the shot every year. It protects me from SOME flu strains, about 40% this year. That’s why some folks get ‘the fllu’ after they had the shot. It’s not 100% effective. I’d rather have some protection, than no protection.

  2. Olga Says:

    I get the flu shot–my training from having worked in schools–where you need all the germ protection you can get! I did get the flu once after getting a shot, so it is still a gamble.

  3. Cathy Says:

    Dianne is right Gigi – influenza is a killer and we need as much protection as we older ones can get. True it is possible to get the virus even after having the ‘jab’ and yes because of the nature of the virus it changes from year to year but I like to think I have some protection from my yearly flu jab. In my eyes something is better than nothing.
    There is a pneumonia vaccination available in Australia as well – something else to consider.
    Cathy

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I had the pneumonia vaccine this year, though I have never had pneumonia. The good thing about the pneumonia vaccine is that it is a one-time thing, and I won’t have to have it annually.

  4. Jan Says:

    I have the flu vaccine every year, and it’s been a long time since I’ve been sick with it. (knock wood) Hope you’re feeling better soon, Gigi. And yes, I think older people need it every year. Since I’m in that category, I wouldn’t think of skipping it. 🙂

  5. dkzody Says:

    I wonder if you got sick because you had been weakened by your colitis flare. Your immune system is usually very healthy, but that flare could have weakened it and made it easier to catch David’s bug.

  6. Christine Says:

    Hope you feel better soon. I always get the flu shot, but I know a lot who don’t.

  7. Hattie Says:

    I used to get every flu that came along and would sometimes be very sick and even slowed down and depressed for months afterwards.Since I started taking flu shots,for many years I have not had the flu even once.

  8. DeniseinVA Says:

    I am so sorry you have the flu. I have never had the shot but wondered and will be interested in reading what your commentors have to say. Feel better soon!

  9. Kay G. Says:

    I took the flu shot ONCE and got so sick with the flu that I swore I would never take it again.
    Hope you feel better. Chicken soup is good for you. xxx

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    After getting very sick for a very long time one year while I was still teaching, we get a flu shot every year. We have never had the flu since.

  11. Bella Rose Says:

    After several Thanksgivings and Christmases of four daughters and my being sick with the flu, I started lining everyone up at the doctor’s office in the fall annually for the flu shot. Although I sometimes feel a little under the weather from the shot, the family has not had the flu since.

  12. Beatrice P Boyd Says:

    I have been getting a flu shot for the past several years, Gigi, and have not had a cold during that time. But, last week Pat shared his nasal congestion and coughing with me and I am slowing recovering with lots of tissues nearby. Hope you feel better soon too.

Leave a Reply

