Quaker Lace

mike-09-1-A

This is the Quaker Lace tablecloth I purchased at Macy’s/Liberty House in 1991, the year we moved into our present house.  I set this table for a Chinese dinner, hence the wooden chopsticks next to the two forks.  As it turned out, everyone except David used the chopsticks, whereas he used the forks.

This tablecloth is indestructible and fits our oval table perfectly.  Imagine, it has never shrunk despite numerous times in our washing machine and electric dryer.  I am not sure what type of fabric it is.  Cotton?  Polyester?  A combination of both?  The material is rather thick and heavy, which may be why it is so durable.  No need to iron it, either.

Further, it seems to be stain-resistant.  One of my nieces dropped spaghetti sauce all over the tablecloth, and I thought for sure it was ruined.  But, after treating the stain with Easy Wash, I threw the tablecloth into the washing machine and, voila! the tablecloth was as good as new.

I paid $200 for it in 1991, but it could easily fetch $1,000 or more today.

It’s one of the most beautiful things I own.

6 Responses to “Quaker Lace”

  1. DeniseinVA Says:

    It is a gorgeous tablecloth and it has certainly stood the test of time.

  2. Christine Says:

    It is gorgeous, I can’t believe it has lasted so long and is in such good condition!

  3. Jan Says:

    What a great investment it was. And it’s simply beautiful. 🙂

  4. Linda Reeder Says:

    It is lovely, and yet so durable!

  5. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Love your tablecloth. Sounds wonderful. Although David and I are adults, we manage to spill food when we eat, on ourselves, on the table, on the floor (why we have dogs?).

    PS I took the post about the Melanoma down this morning. thanks for your kind comment yesterday.

  6. Grannymar Says:

    That looks like a cut work panel at this end of the table. I love cut work.

Leave a Reply

