Afraid of monsters

This is the first photo I have of my grandkids together, Julia (age 2) and Rylan (newborn), 2010:

Julia and Rylan-2-17-10-A

This is Julia, kissing her brother (2010):

birthday-7-A

And this is how they looked in February.  Rylan (5), Julia (7), Maria, and Grant:

Rylan's 5th BD 003-A

Recently, I had an interesting conversation with Rylan and Julia.

Rylan:  “I gave $5.00 to Juju.”

Me:  “$5.00?  Why?”

Julia:  “Because I let him sleep in my bed every night.”

Me:  “Why doesn’t your brother want to sleep in his own bed?”

Julia:  “Because he sees dark shadows on the wall and thinks they are monsters.”

Me:  “Oh.”

Rylan:  “Juju wanted me to give her $5.00.  So, I did.”

Me:  “So, it’s a win-win situation.  Don’t worry, Rylan.  You will soon outgrow your fears.  When I was your age, I was afraid of monsters, too.  But, guess what?  Later on, I got so brave, I traveled around the world all by myself.  Nobody helped me.”

Yes, folks, I used to be a scaredy-cat.  I remember my mother placing a rosary on my bed above my head to ward off the devil because of my nightmares.

One of the worst memories of my childhood was being forced to watch horror movies with my cousins, whenever we celebrated the holidays in Wahiawa.  To get the young kids out of the house, my uncle would take us to Wahiawa Theater, where I watched those horrible horror movies in agony. It was sheer torture.  My cousins, on the other hand, had a wonderful time.

I am sure that my grandson will soon become as fearless as his sister.  And, no, Rylan, those dark shadows on the wall are not monsters!

6 Responses to “Afraid of monsters”

  1. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    I too am a scardy cat. I never watch horror films, can’t stand sci-fi and sleep with a rosary next to my head. Also have Chrystal’s hanging in every window and hollies at every part of my yard to keep evil away. Replaced the Saint Christopher medal in my car with a Chrystal. And I have two ferocious dogs.

  2. Tom Sightings Says:

    Cute kids … may they go out into the world with courage and conviction!

  3. Jan Says:

    Some people just love horror movies. I find them unpleasant, but I’ve also never been afraid of them. I hope Rylan outgrows his monsters. 🙂

  4. Joanne Noragon Says:

    No horror movies for me, either.

  5. Christine Says:

    oh so sorry you had to go through watching those horror movies Gigi. Poor Rylan too.

  6. Linda Reeder Says:

    I’m impressed that Julia is quite the little Capitalist, charging her brother to sleep in her bed.

Leave a Reply

