Why we removed the lemon tree

A swanky restaurant in Waikiki (2007).  Not the one in this story.

I cannot drink anything acidic, such as citrus juice, as it causes severe stomach pain.  One sip of tangerine juice and my stomach feels like it is on fire.  It’s just horrible.

When we were at a swanky restaurant, I requested a glass of water.  The waiter returned with a pitcher full of water, ice cubes…and slices of lemon floating on top.  I couldn’t believe my eyes.  Why would anyone want to mess with perfectly good water by adding lemon to it?  I politely, but firmly, told the waiter to give me water without the lemon.  Grrr.  That incident made me so angry.

As you can tell, I have a very sensitive stomach.  When it is inflamed, I cannot eat a darn thing.  So just one sip of acid ruins the entire dinner for me.

Now you know why we removed the lemon tree that the previous owner planted in our back yard.  Lemons are poisonous as far as I am concerned.

I would rather have something sweet than something sour.

At home, I drink apple juice.  It suits me just fine.

19 Responses to “Why we removed the lemon tree”

  1. Cathy Says:

    Seems a shame – do you not use fresh lemon in any of your cooking?

    • gigihawaii Says:

      There is one recipe for chicken-broccoli casserole that calls for 1 teaspoon of lemon juice. I don’t get sick from it because it is cooked and incorporated into the dish. I do get sick when the lemon is in liquid form, such as lemon juice squeezed over fish.

  2. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Sorry to read how anything citrus can be so upsetting, Gigi. Odd thing is that we are not bothered by lemons or the like, but actually have to request a slice whenever we order water while dining out.

  3. Jan Says:

    Sorry to hear about your problem with acids, Gigi. I would have kept the tree, however, for its beauty, and given away the lemons. 🙂

  4. Tim Bowden Says:

    Lemon Tree very pretty, and the lemon flower is sweet. But, the fruit of the poor lemon is impossible to eat.

  5. Tim Bowden Says:

    Hope you feel better soon, Gigi.

  6. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    That’s awful Gigi. Sorry to hear about it.

  7. mieko Says:

    Gigi,you are not alone about anything acidic.I used to love oranges when I was young but not any more. They cause so much pain and
    upset my stomach that I stay away from sour fruit and vegetables.

  8. Joanne Noragon Says:

    My stomach dislikes acid equally. And, the lemon rinds in water probably are the most contaminated item that ever will come to your table.

  9. Christine Says:

    good to know apple has less acid, wasn’t sure about that.

  10. Grannymar Says:

    I quite like lemon flavour, but dislike ice cubes in all drinks. Two sips and my body goes cold on the inside. Not a good idea.

  11. Tom Sightings Says:

    It’s quite common n restaurants around here to get a slice of lemon in your water. They think it’s classy. So you gotta be careful. As for me, I can’t stomach garlic or bleu cheese — and I get just as annoyed as you do when they put them in a dish without telling me.

  12. Linda Reeder Says:

    My sister-in-law and my daughter both have trouble with acidic foods, so I understand. I have trouble with onions and garlic.

  13. Olga Says:

    I cut down the grapefruit tree in my FL yard. We used to give the fruit away, but having a fruit tree is a lot of work. And worry–about citrus rats. I prefer my citrus scented jasmine by far.

  14. dkzody Says:

    Although I love citrus, I have a problem with the acid in my urinary tract so I have to limit the quantities. I love to make strawberry/basil lemonade and could drink the whole pitcher, but must resist. Yes, the restaurants here also put lemon in their water which is okay with me. Terry always asks for water, sans ice. He, like Grannymar, freezes when they put ice in his water.

  15. Linda Starr Says:

    lots of restaurants automatically put a lemon slice on the edge of water; so sorry about your stomach rejecting acidic food,

Leave a Reply

