It’s fun

This is a plant (Syngonium White Butterfly) I purchased at Home Depot recently.  I love it, because it looks so healthy, and I adore the heart-shaped leaves.  And at $3.98, it was affordable.  It’s a shade plant, so it will do well indoors on my coffee table.  Eventually, the plant will expand and will look even more beautiful:

plant 001-A

I also bought three Boston ferns for $10.98 each.  These ferns hang outside my family room.  I water them daily and rotate them weekly.  They will grow big and bushy in no time.  I love this bit of greenery outside my windows:

Boston ferns 001

Presently, we want the Ti Leaf plants beneath the ferns to grow up to the window sill, and then we will keep pruning them to remain at that height.  You can see parts of the Ti Leaves at the bottom of the photo.

That’s the way it is in our home.  When we get tired of looking at an old plant, we just toss it in the recycling bin and shop at Home Depot for new plants.  It’s fun.

How much do plants in your area cost?  Do you buy new plants frequently?

10 Responses to “It’s fun”

  1. Leisha Says:

    Hi Gigi, I enjoy reading your blog . Have you considered giving your plants to a charity or friends rather than throwing them away ? I am sure that there would be other people who would love these plants rather than the plants ending up in a trash can.

  2. Jan Says:

    I buy new outdoor plants every spring, since I buy annuals instead of perennials. 🙂

  3. Grannymar Says:

    You sure change your plants regularly. I do not like pot plants or cut flowers in my house, so i am unable to answer your question.

  4. Joanne Noragon Says:

    The plant prices seem comparable to my own. The local garden center across the road is pricier than the big box stores, but it is a local business and I support it. “Buy locally, feed a friend,” I once read on a bumper sticker.

  5. Christine Says:

    lovely greenery, plants at Costco are pretty reasonable. My sister bought a beautiful hibiscus there.

  6. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    I’m a plant nut and buy several hundred dollars worth of annuals for containers every spring. The cold kills them so in the fall I take some inside to overwinter them. I love your large window,

  7. Tom Sightings Says:

    We have half a dozen house plants that all look as though they’ve barely been clinging to life for years … maybe because they have. You’ve inspired me. This fall we’re getting new house plants!

  8. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    we used to do a lot of plantings at our VA house both annuals and perennials. I buy fresh cut flowers at the supermarket and they usually last up to 2 weeks in a vase on our table. We don’t have any house plants.

  9. Linda Starr Says:

    Our home depot carries mostly annuals so I went to another nursery that carries perennials recently to start a flower garden. I like the unusual or unique plants so I tend to go to the independent nurseries. my one house plant I got at xmas a norfolk island pine looks like it isn’t doing well, don’t know if I over watered it or under watered it, I do better with outdoor plants.

Leave a Reply

