“Let’s see you do better”

December 2007:  I set a pretty table for Christmas dinner, don’t you think?

Some people (not the ones pictured above) have nothing better to do than come here and criticize me, my marriage, and my house.

For instance, they say:

  • “This house is nothing. I have seen better homes.”
  • “You look so old and fat.”
  • “Your marriage sucks. I wouldn’t be surprised if David leaves you for somebody better.”

Aaaargggh.  Give me a break.

My house would not appeal to the Queen of England, but it’s good enough for gigi-hawaii.  What I like about my home is that it is spacious enough to host large family gatherings.

I may be old and fat, but I am still alive.  Lots of skinny people are dead.

As for my marriage, David and I have been married for almost 35 years with no end in sight.

My standard retort to these critics is:  “Let’s see you do better.”

Of course, they can’t.

19 Responses to ““Let’s see you do better””

  1. Snoskred Says:

    Those people are toxic people. If at all possible, remove them from your life. Be unavailable to them. 🙂 You’ll enjoy life more..

  2. Olga Says:

    Wow. I hope anyone who would make those kinds of rude comments does not get to come to your home a second time!

  3. Jan Says:

    I agree with the comments above. Who would say such things? Let those people go.

  4. Joanne Noragon Says:

    Do you still invite them?

  5. mlum808 Says:

    You can’t control what people say. Just ignore them. The main thing is that you are happy, nothing else matters.

  6. Christine Says:

    what mean people.

  7. ~L. Says:

    If they can’t behave they should not be welcome. Just because they are related does not mean they don’t have to behave.

  8. Hattie Says:

    I’d never say such things to you. I respect you. Sounds like some of your family don’t respect you.

  9. Lorraine Says:

    Just tell those family members that since it is so miserable for them to be in a “nothing” house with a fat woman in a bad marriage that you will spare them any future pain. Tell them that if they would like to see you they can take you out and buy you dinner( I still wouldn’t go).

  10. mmmm! Says:

    I just got a birthday greeting and my birthday was may 27th and my 41st wedding anniversary this was by e-mail mind you!..The excuse was something else, she said this and that and I just replied I don’t care about birthdays anymore we celebrate in june and august and our 41st wedding anniversary was wonderful we got to see our only child and we are going to the coast to enjoy childhood friends who are more family than the biological family from whence I came..this person was married for over 20 years to an abusive husband and her child who is nearly 40 is mentally ill and milks it for everything she can, I used to feel sorry for this woman not anymore, some people are toxic and selfish and unkind..I have better things to do in my life on this terrestrial than to be bothered by people like her..I am polite but firm, I don’t call or e-mail anymore she is retired too, but has to keep her energy up for her mentally ill adult daughter who will turn 40 next year…Let others just go jump in the ocean with their nasty comments, you are a beautiful person with a loving husband and you live in a wonderful home! ciao and love sent out to you daily!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am overweight and will not stand for people to make comments about my weight at all and I mean at all, I just change the subject and move on in my life, we are here on this earth for such a short time why can’t people get it to be kind, loving and peaceful..ciao!

  11. palolo Says:

    Wow. Keep your family get togethers small. No toxic people allowed.

  12. Grannymar Says:

    Just remind them that your husband and home are to your liking. If they are hot happy and wish to be removed from your invitation list, they can always ask you to remove them!

  13. De Says:

    OMG…they are probably just jealous of you and your family. You have a lovely home and family…cherish them.

  14. Lorna Says:

    Gigi, I don’t understand why people have to say such hateful things. I know that when people get old, they lose all the filters that make them polite human beings, but no one should every say such mean things. 😦

  15. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Gigi, add me to the list of those who have already commented about not understanding how family or friends could come to a home and say hateful things. Toxic people indeed and limited contact would seem best to me as well. As long as you and David are happy with your lives, marriage, home that is what really matters.

  16. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    You’re doing just fine. Enjoy life while you have it. To heck with the critics. I’m shocked anyone would be so rude as to say those things to your face!!

  17. Hank Chapin Says:

    Those kind of comments are totally out of bounds. Hard to believe. Also, there is no rule that I’m aware of that says one has to invite rude family.

  18. Hank Chapin Says:

    I guess it’s sort of true that you can choose your friends but you can’t choose your family. Still….

Leave a Reply

