Expand your world

tokyo-chinzanso-waterfall-a

A waterfall in Tokyo, Japan, 2008.  We had a wonderful time.

Behind the waterfall:

tokyo-chinzanso-waterfall-behind-a

My greatest fear is out-living my savings.  So, with that in mind, I considered cutting expenses by eliminating travels and concerts from my life and focusing on home improvement and entertaining friends and relatives.  This decision would make me very happy and content, I thought.

Well, I found myself shrinking my world rather than expanding it.  So many seniors limit themselves to eating, sleeping and watching TV.  This leads to dementia.  As we age, we have to deliberately force ourselves to stimulate ourselves mentally.

Hence, David and I have decided to renew our season tickets to the symphony next season.  The seats we want are expensive, but worth the price.  It’s exciting to watch new soloists play their hearts out.

We also want to travel to Australia in March 2017 and visit with friends there.  We will spend six nights in Sydney, Brisbane, and Melbourne.  And, no, David, I will not let you risk your life by bungee jumping.  What a crazy thing to do.  I don’t want a vegetable for a husband.  Nor do I want a dead husband.

We want to go there in 2017, because David will have his knee replacement surgeries in 2015 and 2016.  He needs time to recuperate before attempting to walk in a foreign country.

We will continue to view art exhibits, too.  Even if I don’t buy anything, it is wonderful to see how creative people can be.  Many of these artists are seniors like us.

Expand your world.  Stimulate your mind by experiencing new things.

I don’t think we will out-live our savings by doing so.  Careful budgeting will prevent that from happening.

14 Responses to “Expand your world”

  1. Jan Says:

    I have to agree with you on bungee jumping, even with good knees. Maybe David could try ziplining, which is really fun and much safer. I do hope the knee replacement goes well! 🙂

  2. Olga Says:

    Good for you…life is for living.

  3. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Very important to keep your mind and body active as you age. AARP has all kinds of suggestions for doing this.

  4. Christine Says:

    It’s important to try to do the things you want to do at this stage of your life Gigi. I have trouble planning things 2 years ahead though. I tend to go one day at a time.

  5. Joanne Noragon Says:

    Good for you. I already know what I’m doing five years from now!

  6. Kay G. Says:

    Make sure you take time to smell the roses no matter how much money you have or hope to keep. xx

  7. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Sitting home, eating and watching TV unfortunately is the life led by many seniors, but isn’t for us. Even if we were not traveling, we would be sure to get out and walk around. Luckily, we don’t subscribe to any TV service so no danger of brain drain there. Good for you and David on renewing your symphony subscription and for making travel plans to Australia. Hope all will go well with the upcoming knee surgery too.

  8. dkzody Says:

    The money factor has never been a fear as I get older, but health has been. I want to be healthy so as to enjoy the grandchildren and friends.

  9. Tom Sightings Says:

    I agree, — expand your world, your mind, your imagination. But … don’t they have a senior discount at the symphony? If they don’t, they should!

  10. marmeladegypsy Says:

    I think a lot of us worry about that but I worry more about not living my life to the fullest. That doesn’t mean not keeping an eye on things or making choices, but also looking to have good experiences. Deprivation is sad and it makes us angry. I see what you are doing as very wise.

Leave a Reply

