Relocate to the northeast?

ala-moana-bowls-a

Sunset in Hawaii.  Photo by Ted Trimmer.

David and I have been discussing whether or not we should sell our house and move to the northeast, preferably close to New York City, where I lived from 1970 to 1975.  I would enjoy attending concerts, the ballet, and Broadway musicals.

However, it’s expensive.  We would have to rent, since we don’t have the funds to buy and own a decent condo or house.  And if David dies before I do, my income would decrease.

Further, what makes us think that the northeast is the perfect place to live?  Many homes in New Jersey were destroyed by Hurricane Sandy in 2012, and they have not been rebuilt.

In Hawaii, we own a 3 bedroom 2 bath house on a 6,600 square foot lot.  Where else can we find such a large, beautiful home, one which requires no monthly payments of mortgage, maintenance fee, or rent?

Also, I would miss my darling grandkids.  They mean the world to me.  I love being their grandmother and watching them grow and develop.

Hence, it appears that we shall remain here in Hawaii and take our chances with the water situation (discussed in my previous post).  If the underground water does become polluted from jet fuel, the government might have to install a desalination plant or a reverse osmosis system.

Anything is possible.

As I approach the age of 70, I want to avoid undue stress, which can kill me just as much as polluted water can.  It is too stressful to relocate to the mainland or even to another island and face the unknown.

So, we are keeping the status quo for now.  Let’s not rock the boat.

13 Responses to “Relocate to the northeast?”

  1. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    What keeps most seniors where they are is family. David and I live in a county named number 1 for retirees, but it’s very pricey. We’re not poor, but the upkeep on a house we thought was ready for our retirement has managed to surprise us over and over.

    I would miss my network if I had to move. Having lived here the better part of the past 55 years, I don’t know how I would manage elsewhere. Although many people think Washington DC and its environs harbor evil people, I.e., politicians and their ilk, it’s really the only place I’ve ever wanted to live.

  2. Olga Says:

    There really is no place that is actually the garden of eden. It is always fun (at least for me) to contemplate a move, but the reality…well, not so much fun at all. If I were to move permanently owt of this area, my family and friends would have to move with me and that might near impossible to orchestrate.

  3. Cathy Says:

    Oh Gigi – surely the freezing cold winters they have there would have been enough to make you think otherwise. Are you a snow bunny or a surfie girl lol

  4. Marty Says:

    You would probably be the only person on the planet deliberately moving to the Northeast. We live in Massachusetts and for the first time went to Florida for a week in March. We liked it so much we inquired around about another rental next year. Mostly we only received laughter, since apparently the whole state is booked through 2017 because of this year’s harsh winter. Everyone in the north is trying to get the heck out of Dodge.

  5. Jan Says:

    I moved from the middle of the country (Colorado) to the Pacific Northwest seven years ago, and I simply love it. Of course, I don’t mind the rain all that much and am active. I would never consider moving again at 72, unless something happened I can’t imagine. You are smart to stay in Hawaii. 🙂

  6. Joanne Noragon Says:

    You forgot to mention, it snows. And snows. And snows.

  7. Christine Says:

    Great decision to stay put! Most people would love to retire in Hawaii!

  8. Sylvia Thompson Says:

    You should check out Oregon since it’s closer to HI and easier for people like your kids to come visit. It’s cheaper and no income tax. It’s cleaner and slower than the East.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Yeah, I googled Portland, Oregon, when this whole thing about the water came up last week. Lots of people enjoy life in Portland, but there does not seem to be any culture, like the symphony, ballet, opera. I would find it very boring.

  9. mmm Says:

    I have lived in California all over the state when I was younger loved it got my education there worked there when one could actually get a decent job and a home, did not buy a home, now it is known for federal, state and for profit prisons no jobs and no homes at all to purchase even with lots of money..Lived in colorful Colorado loved it had a lovely home, now lots of hunger and homelessness and crime, not so nice now. in and around Denver and in Aurora, Colorado our only born in Boulder county most lovely, but homes are exorbitant for what you actually purchase, have lived in the pacific northwest for soon 37 years came out on fathers day weekend 1978 watched our tiny home be built and have stayed, we can get to the Washington coast, central Washington and seattle easily and cheaply…I got to go to Hawaii one time for free in 1968 to Maui no less, I have many friends who were born and raised there, they are life long friends..Our only lives in NYC and she loves it but has a job that pays her well she is based out of LA works in film, she gets out to see us or we see her on the red eye on jet blue a lot..We have life long friends retired now who own a teeny tiny cabin at a beach in Washington state we go all the time..It is sad now children can do as well as their parents and they want so much more and right now..Our only is single and we take trips with her all the time, she knows the words, plenty enough and thank you very much..You are the sign of the rooster and they don’t make decisions easily and they don’t throw money around like it is growing on trees, if I could and my hubs too afford the food in Hawaii and Maui we would love to move there, but we could never afford the houses and the food at all, YOU ARE VERY BLESSED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  10. mmm Says:

    I meant to say it is very sad most children cannot do as well as their parents, they cannot buy homes, and their jobs are poof gone in a new York minute, yesterday in Portland and Beaverton Intel one of the areas biggest and best companies laid people off, booom they lost excellent jobs, What does that say about working anymore..My only called distressed one of her best friends since childhood lost a job at a place in Seattle she actually ran the whole shebang and she has two tiny ones just 2 years old a boy twin and a girl twin and her hubs stays with them and takes care of them, there goes their dream of living, it happens all the time, her parents will help out but really highly educated and they chose to let her go rather than keep paying her even though she ran that agency, oh, my goodness sakes..I read your blog all the time,you are so blessed, your home and family close your home lovely, I would never leave, it is in my opinion the way one has their familia and a place to call home that sets the tone of one’s life..YOU ARE MOST BLESSED INDEED!

  11. marmeladegypsy Says:

    It sounds to me as though you have made up your mind! The grandchildren are a big factor. A dear friend recently moved from San Francisco to upstate NY and is saving a fortune with a bigger place to iive, much smaller cost of living. But when you get into the city proper, not so easy. Whatever you do I’m sure you’ll make the right decision.

  12. Linda Starr Says:

    property taxes in the northeast are expensive, utilities the same and food and more, plus it is so crowded, we like the country better than the city; we like it here in Georgia but are now thinking of a possible move the EU country, maybe Spain, must be warm as our old bones don’t like the cold

Leave a Reply

