We balance each other

wwed-5-a

(David and I opened presents in my parents’ home following our wedding reception in 1980.)

My husband and I balance each other.  What he lacks, I have, and vice-versa.

For instance, David makes perceptual errors.  He will see the word “Medicaid” but perceive it as “Medicare.”  He also doesn’t fill out application forms well, glancing at a sentence and assuming it does not apply to him.  I have had to proof read his work for that reason.

On the other hand, he is a better listener.  I tend to tune out when a conversation is boring, whereas David hears everything.  He does not daydream when people are talking.  He also is a good conversationalist.  I hate to use my voice, which is why I hated teaching.

So, there you go.  I like to read and write, but he prefers to talk and listen.  We help each other.

When I discussed this with David, he laughed and said it was not true.  Just the other day, he was at Target and was perusing his receipt, when he noticed the cashier had charged him twice for the tomatoes.  He pointed it out to her and was refunded.

“That proves I can proof read just as well as you,” David said.

“Well,” I replied, “let’s see how well you do with the next application form you fill out.  I’ll bet you will transpose numbers or letters and not catch your mistake.”

Anyway, my point is that we balance each other.  I have excellent eyes, but he has excellent ears.

11 Responses to “We balance each other”

  1. Jan Says:

    It’s nice to share your life with someone who balances you. I know that my guy and I are the same in many ways. He cooks and I eat. 🙂

  2. dkzody Says:

    My husband says that if you’re both alike, one of you is unnecessary. Sounds like both of you are needed in your marriage.

  3. Olga Says:

    I notice that David is not really admitting to having any faults at all!

  4. Christine Says:

    A good team!

  5. Tom Sightings Says:

    That’s the way it’s supposed to be, isn’t it?

  6. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    As an accountant he must have done much proofing. Perhaps he see numbers better than you? Nice photo.

  7. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Balance is always a good thing because without it, one or the other of younwould surely fall.

  8. marmeladegypsy Says:

    This is cute! Rick and I are a good balance, too. And it makes all the difference in the world.

Leave a Reply

