Spectator or athlete?

golf-1-david-a

David and I golfed at the Navy-Marine Golf Course in 2008.

golf-1-gigi-a

We were watching the U.S. Open on TV last Sunday, when David remarked, “I enjoy watching golf even more than actually playing it.”

I guess that applies to all sports.  For us, it’s more fun being a spectator than being an athlete.

When we were downsizing our home to rent out our master bedroom and bathroom for additional income, we decided to donate our two sets of golf clubs to Goodwill.  These golf clubs had been given to us by an uncle and a friend.  We used them for a while at the driving range and putting green at Pearl Country Club, but I was afraid that David’s arthritic knees would twist, causing irreparable harm, so we abandoned the idea of becoming golfers.  No regrets.

Now, David swims at the gym every night.  I, on the other hand, exercise by walking in my neighborhood and doing housework.  Yup, housework is considered exercise.  Try it sometime.

TV sports 006-A

We have so much fun watching the Super Bowl, the NBA Finals, the tennis and golf tournaments, and Major League Baseball, especially on our wonderful 65” TV.  It’s better than actually being there in my opinion.  We can get up and go to the bathroom and kitchen without having to stand in long lines.  We can also recline on our comfortable sofa and rest our feet on our ottomans.  Can’t do that in a stadium or arena, where we have to sit upright on hard seats and restrict ourselves to that small space.

So, all in all, life is good and being an “armchair quarterback” can’t be beat.

Which do you prefer:  Being a spectator or being an athlete?

8 Responses to “Spectator or athlete?”

  1. Christine Says:

    Spectator for sure! Great that you could give away your golf clubs and clear the clutter. I have a charity pickup today, but wish I could have cleared away more things.

  2. Olga Says:

    I don’t watch any sports on TV. Don’t even have sports channels on my cable line up. I would much rather participate (but not golf), although I am not very athletic, or perhaps watch in a stadium.

  3. Jan Says:

    I much prefer to participate in sports, although as I’ve gotten older they have become fewer. My sister golfs but I never learned how. Her 55+ community has three short courses. I like to swim and walk and hike for exercise and leave the housework to hubby. 🙂

  4. Joanne Noragon Says:

    I’m definitely spectator class. I cannot think of any sport I ever enjoyed, excepting perhaps croquet.

  5. Gwen Says:

    Gigi, I am a GREAT spectator. And I’m addicted to fantasy football. Time to ‘gear up’, in fact. I have to get my league title back this season. 😉

  6. Tom Sightings Says:

    I would much rather play golf than watch it on TV … until I actually go out and play golf, and then I remember how frustrating it is, and how much better it is on TV! I feel the same way about tennis … can’t wait for Wimbledon which starts next week.

  7. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    I like peace and quiet to tell the truth. Stadiums are noisy, so you won’t find me there. the only reason I know the names of any athletes today is because they make it into th newspapers. I am no sports enthusiast.

  8. The Frog & PenguINN Says:

    Spectator for me as well, Gigi, although I do get exercise by walking to most downtown places and the library since we live so close now. And, since housework is exercise count me infor that too.

Leave a Reply

