Shrimp and Zucchini Stir-Fry

I love to create new things to eat, and yesterday was no exception.

I call this dish Shrimp and Zucchini Stir-Fry:

Shrimp and Zucchini 003-A

And here it is on a plate with homemade potato salad and a tossed green salad:

Shrimp and Zucchini 004-A

As you know, the more colorful the food, the better it is for you since it is bound to be chock full of vitamins and minerals.  The pink shrimp contrasts well with the green zucchini.

The unusual aspect of this food is that I did not heat up the wok first, because I did not want the garlic to burn.

Here’s the recipe:

In a COLD pot or electric wok, add:

1/3 cup oil (can be olive oil or canola oil or both)

1 teaspoon minced garlic

1 teaspoon Italian Seasoning (mixed herbs)

½ teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon black pepper

½ teaspoon cumin

Mix the above ingredients.

Then, add:

1 lb. raw, peeled shrimp (I used large shrimp)

2 – zucchini, chopped

When all of the ingredients are in the pot or wok, turn it on to Medium or 350 F.

Stir fry.

Do not over-cook.

Enjoy!

13 Responses to “Shrimp and Zucchini Stir-Fry”

  1. Olga Says:

    I have to be in just the right mood for shrimp, but this sounds tasty. I see you have other shrimp recipes for me to check out as well.

  2. Christine Says:

    This looks simple, healthy and delicious! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Jan Says:

    Looks good to me! 🙂

  4. Cathy Says:

    Thanks for this Gigi. It sounds and looks interesting (and easy) – Will give it a go some time.

  5. grrrrr Says:

    Can I join you for another tasty meal??? It is hotter than a pepper here in Washington state, in the 90’s and soon 100’s it is a big drought no rain, precipitation or snow for about over one full year..We are suffering because it is humid tooooo, no a/c our home built in 1978 never had anything like that would have increased our bill by about 4,000 dollars our heat is from a ceiling thingie we NEVER use, we are taking it out for a Mitsubishi unit efficient and will heat and cool our tiny home..We are grateful for brand new windows and insulation we just got after 37 years and new flooring, everything costs a ton more than what we thought, we would love to live in Hawaii but we don’t have a lot of $ so we would starve for sure..people live long in Hawaii than any other place in this world save Tibet but we would prefer Hawaii, aloha and have a wonderful weekend too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. Gwen Says:

    looks very very yummy! 🙂

  7. Grannymar Says:

    That looks tasty, but I would reduce the cumin, I find it takes over. Must give it a try.

  8. Kay G. Says:

    Oh, how funny. I made a stir fry with zucchini yesterday too!
    I might do a post about it if I can remember how I made it.
    It was good. The zucchini was fresh from my Dad’s garden.
    I made gluten free zucchini bread the day before that!

  9. dellgirl Says:

    Hello, how are you? I came over from Kay/Musings blog to visit, read a bit, and just to say hi. Your shrimp and zucchini dish looks really tasty. I love shrimp. The recipe looks easy enough, makes me want to try it. Thanks for sharing it.

  10. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    You make it sound so easy. I hate to stir fry. I always make a mess. So you don’t heat the oil and add the ingredients later?

  11. The Frog & PenguINN Says:

    Shrimp is one of our favoritrs because it is so versatile and adding the now plentiful zucchini is great, Gigi. This meal may be on our dinner menu this week with an alteration to the sides.

  12. Linda Starr Says:

    yummy, now I am hungry for this stir fry for breakfast. ha.

Leave a Reply

