Design flaws?

12-4-09 -moon over ala wai-A

Ala Wai Harbor.  Photo by Ted Trimmer.

A woman I know complained about the new unit she and her children had moved into.  She said that the sliding glass windows had to be shut tight when it rained.  But then there was no air flow.  She said that jalousies would have been better, because they could be shut only slightly, keeping the rain out but letting the air in.

She also said that a ceiling fan had been installed, but it was too close to her son’s top bunk bed.

So, there were serious design flaws in that new unit, too late and too expensive to fix.

Hind sight is always 20/20, isn’t it?

David and I love our 3 bedroom 2 bath house.  Some people have remarked that they would have preferred a larger kitchen and bathroom.  But, how much time do you spend in the kitchen and bathroom anyway?  Very little time.  If I had to choose, I would choose a large entertainment area (family room and living room) rather than a large kitchen.  And a large entertainment area is precisely what we have.

Some people have also mentioned that we have no view of the city or ocean.  Well, we could have purchased a house on the hill with a splendid view, but that would have meant climbing up and down steep stairs.  Can you imagine making multiple trips from the car to the house, carrying bags of groceries up the stairs?  Not good when your husband has severe arthritis.

In lieu of a view, we hang beautiful paintings on our walls.  The art is not investment grade, but we like it.  I tend to frown at works by Picasso, but smile at paintings by local artists.  The paintings we display make us happy.  For that reason, they are priceless.

Design flaws?  Our home is livable.

13 Responses to “Design flaws?”

  1. Christine Says:

    Awful about design flaws. I have been inside a McDonald’s washroom that is so poorly designed it is difficult to get into the stalls, except for the handicapped one.

  2. Olga Says:

    I like the efficiency of a small, but well planned kitchen.

  3. Jan Says:

    I’ve seen pictures of your entertainment and living room area, and I think it’s beautiful. 🙂

  4. Joanne Noragon Says:

    You have adapted your space to you needs and are happy. Perhaps your friend could move the bunk bed.

  5. Lorraine Says:

    When you live in an area with beautiful views it is not so important to have views from every window. Besides your taxes are lower with non-view property.

  6. dkzody Says:

    We’ve lived in our house for 35 years, and I appreciate it more and more for its size and ease in which to maneuver. The best part of our house–it’s paid for. I just wish it could magically maintain itself!

  7. grrr! Says:

    Just to own a home is something to be grateful for, we are experiencing 100 plus degree heat and humidity, we don’t have a/c at all, we sleep in a tent given to me by a lady who moved to Texas who is going home to live the rest of her life, she got rid of most of the stuff she used for the past 35 plus years..It is all a matter of perspective I would have the glass door realigned and I would not put a bunk bed near a fan perhaps they could move it down a bit..100 plus degrees is something else outside in a neat tent with mosquito netting it runs inside about only 78 wow whee and free at that..One should be careful when one purchases anyhome if one is to live there for a long time we have been in our tiny home 37 years we adapted it to what we wanted not others opinions, my kitchen is the largest room in the house and living room a smidge littler only 1205 square free and 1 & 1/2 bathrooms all on one level and we are fine with it, paid it off in 8 years and put the $ we intended to use for our retirement away before we both retired..Our only got a scholarship huge for college and worked because we did not give her the money until she was 30 accruing interest and she is set for life now, we live simply and frugally and don’t need cell phones, extra cars, and lots of doo dads! Both of our parents never owned one damn thing not a home or anything, my mom passed early and I never forgot that at all, life is fragile and tennous at best, enjoy those you love and shower the world with peace joy and love, aloha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    I spend a lot of time in my kitchen, but then it is open to the living areas too. And I actually cook there.

  9. Gwen Says:

    I love your attitude. 🙂

    Our kitchen is extremely small…a few feet longer would’ve been nice, but it’s not a deal breaker, because honestly, we love brushing up against each other. LOL

  10. Linda Starr Says:

    we have the regret of stairs here and a large enough kitchen I like because I like to cook but I like it open to the entertaining areas; I am thankful for what we have, cross ventilation here allows us to open the windows when it is cool enough in summer nights and close up during the day cutting down on our ac bill which we are glad of. I think local art work is the best as it’s the feelings the artist had and knowing the artists which makes it so endearing to those who view it.

  11. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    I’ve managed to have most of the things I complained abot fixed over the years. The sad truth is we have stairs. However, it helps keep us fit. My issue is the lack of a laundry chute. But then how would I get the clothes back upstairs? OH WELL, IT ALWAYS SOMETHING.

  12. Tom Sightings Says:

    I’m with your on the hills … but not about the kitchen. We spend more waking time in the kitchen than any other room in the house. (Maybe that’s why we eat too much!?!)

  13. Musings Says:

    I guess everybody buys homes that suit their lifestyle. We needed a big kitchen to accommodate three cooks in the family. I do wish we had more of an entertainment area like you do though. There wasn’t much we could do about that when we renovated though… Ah well…

Leave a Reply

