Our 35th wedding anniversary

Last night, David and I celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary at Morton’s Steak House in Ala Moana Center.

How we looked on our wedding day in June 1980:

wedding-a.jpg

How we looked last night:

35th anniversary- mortons 004-A

We have dined at Morton’s before, so I won’t be sharing photos of food we ate, because it would be redundant.  Suffice it to say, we indulged in a Caesar’s salad, a main entrée consisting of filet mignon, crab cake, spinach, mushrooms and baked potato, and a dessert of crème brulee for me and hot chocolate cake for David.  All delicious!  In addition, the restaurant gave us a lovely lemon soufflé as an anniversary gift.  Yummy.

Thirty-five years of marriage is a long time.  Among my sisters, I am the only one with a husband, as two sisters are divorced, and a third sister is widowed.   I hope David and I continue to live the good life for many more years.

Just imagine:  If we do celebrate our Golden Anniversary after 50 years of marriage, I will be 84 years old and David 81.  Hard to believe, isn’t it?  I hope we make it.

I was a single mother on welfare, when we began dating.  David said, “This is what I like: family life.  You, me, and little Maria.”

We married in June 1980, and my husband inherited a family instantly.  In October 1980, he legally adopted my two-year-old daughter.  And now, 35 years later, he enjoys being a grandfather to this daughter’s children.

To top it off, we have another daughter, who graduated with a doctorate of physical therapy this year.

We are doing quite well as a family, don’t you think?

18 Responses to “Our 35th wedding anniversary”

  1. Snoskred Says:

    Happy Anniversary to you both! 🙂

  2. Christine Says:

    Happy Anniversary Gigi and David, wishing you many more to come!

  3. Olga Says:

    Extremely well, Gigi. You have a beautiful home, a beautiful family, and the wisdom of appreciating both. Happy anniversary to you both and wishes for many more.

  4. happyforUboth!! Says:

    Happy anniversary 35 years is quite an accomplishment! I read your
    blog daily and I am so happy to read your life and loves! You have a wonderful peaceful and joyful nature your hubs too..Your children sound marvelous and living in Hawaii you are living in paradise, the weather and the juju of that and the islands, you are blessed! Congratulations to you and your hubs, many more years of love, peace and joy..aloha! p.s. Never been to Mortons but there is one in Bellevue Washington a long ways from our home, we might just give it a try, we have only been married 41 plus years and it seems just like yesterday..Big drought here, hotter than a pepper plant but we are grateful peaceful human beings and get to the coast and enjoy food from the sea and childhood friends..ALOHA AND CONGRATS AGAIN..!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. joared Says:

    Congrats on your anniversary! Do enjoy your time together as you move forward toward fifty and more years. We almost made it to 47 years but health problems ended those plans prematurely.

  6. dkzody Says:

    Happy Anniversary. Best wishes for another year of wedded bliss.

  7. Gwen Says:

    Congratulations, and happy anniversary! I hope you not only make 50 together, but surpass it. 🙂

  8. Joanne Noragon Says:

    35 years is a proud milestone. Congratulations to both of you, and double creme broulee next time.

  9. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Wonderful Gigi and very uplifting post. David is reallly smiling in the “now” photo. Was it 35 years of marriage or the great meal?

  10. Grannymar Says:

    Congratulations, and Happy Coral Anniversary to you and David!

  11. Cathy Says:

    Congratulations and Happy Anniversary from me also – it’s good to hear of others who weather those storms that come during life and stick together.

  12. Hank Chapin Says:

    Excellent! I too inherited a family although with two daughters whom I eventually legally adopted when I married Helen. It all worked out. It was a matter of responding authentically to a real situation. “The heart has its reasons the mind knows not of.” Pascal’s Pensées

  13. Linda Reeder Says:

    Congratulations on 35 years together. it’s so wonderful that David found you and your little daughter all those years ago.
    We are getting closer to 50 years. I will only be 75, and that is only four years away!

  14. The Frog & PenguINN Says:

    Happy anniversary Gigi and David. And yes, I think you are doing quite well as a family.

  15. Jan Says:

    I almost forgot to add my own anniversary congratulations! Yes, 35 years is quite an accomplishment. We married in 1994 and will not be making it to our fiftieth, but I sure hope you and David do! 🙂

  16. DeniseinVA Says:

    Congratulations to you and David Gigi, a lovely way to celebrate. You are very blessed.

  17. DeniseinVA Says:

    Almost forgot, I also wanted to thank you for the very kind comment you left for my father-in-law. He appreciated it very much, as did I.

Leave a Reply

