Electronic toys then and now

I babysat my two grandkids recently and, of course, I took a bunch of photos.  What struck me was the memory of my two daughters, Maria and Lisa, playing with their electronic toys when they were little.  And now, Maria’s young children are doing the same thing, though they play with more sophisticated electronics.

Here’s a photo, taken in 1989, of my daughters, Lisa (age 7) and Maria (age 10), playing with their Game Boys.  Note the cord between their devices, indicating that they were playing a game together:

ML-5-A

And here’s a photo, taken in June 2015, of Maria’s children, Julia (age 7) and Rylan (age 5).  Julia is playing with her Kindle Fire, and Rylan is playing with his iPad:

Grandkids 017-A

Kids these days grow up so fast.  My grandkids could read and write when they were in preschool, whereas I didn’t learn the alphabet until I reached first grade in 1952.

What types of toys will my future great-grandchildren play with?  Will their toys be electronic, too?

I want to stick around to find out.

10 Responses to “Electronic toys then and now”

  1. Olga Says:

    Such concentration! It looks as though your grandchildren are actually interacting with each other.

  2. Jan Says:

    I saw a toddler with a magazine trying to swipe her finger across the page. Nothing happened, but it reminded me of how integrated our young ones are with technology these days. 🙂

  3. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    I imagine you with third and fourth sets of photos of great and great-great grandchildren. Here’s wishing you well and me too!😜

  4. Gwen Says:

    I want to stick around for great-grandkids too! 🙂

  5. Joanne Noragon Says:

    And the grands playing together, too. How sweet.

  6. Christine Says:

    Sweet photos, ah, the circle of life. You are right the toys change quite a bit.

  7. Beatrice Says:

    Our grandkids also are connected to their tablets and their mom’s cell phones, sometimes more than we think is needed.

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    I noticed too that while they each had their own devices, they were interacting with each other. I have seen my grandkids doing that too. I do worry though that they spend too much time screen viewing. But then so do I!

  9. Kay G. Says:

    I love this post!
    I also wonder how different things will be in the future. I tell my 10 year old nephew that he will have giant thumbs!

  10. dkzody Says:

    My daughter had a Speak n Spell back in the early 80s. It’s still in a box that the grandkids get out every so often. Terry has to put batteries in it to get it to speak, and off they go, making the robot voice talk.

    Both grandkids love our devices b/c their parents do not allow them to use theirs. My granddaughter was using my MacBook Pro when she was 18 months old. Never looked back.

Leave a Reply

