Paradise is never boring

ala moana-may 22-3-A

Sunset in Hawaii.  Photo by Ted Trimmer.

So often, I hear tourists complain that there is no culture in Hawaii.  They say that all people do is go to the beach.  Boring, they say.

I disagree.

There’s a lot to experience – such as concerts, operas, musicals, plays, informative lectures about astronomy and other topics, art museums, galleries and exhibits, Polynesian Cultural Center, Bishop Museum (Hawaiian artifacts), Made in Hawaii Festivals, craft fairs, as well as night clubs, shopping centers and world class restaurants.

Moreover, if you’re tired of Oahu, you can travel to the neighbor islands and see the erupting volcano on the Big Island, swim with the dolphins in Waikoloa, watch the sunrise at Mount Haleakala, and so on.

Above all, it’s never so frigid here that one has to wear a winter coat, gloves, and boots.  Nah, I wear a muumuu night and day, and only don a sweater now and then.  No need to shovel snow, either.

It’s paradise, after all.  Paradise is never boring.

12 Responses to “Paradise is never boring”

  1. Linda Starrl Says:

    yes there is a lot to do if one just looks around their environment

  2. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    While I lived in Hawaii, I spent the whole time learning everything I could about its history and flora and fauna. I had a Girl Scout troop I took camping at Haunama Bay and high in the mountains on the windward side. We hiked everywhere. My kids and I visited all the museums art centers, Foster Botanical Gardens, zoos, beaches, parks, Iolani Palace and others. From the photos you and Kay have posted, I know many more places exist today. Only a boring person could be bored in Hawaii.

    PS Oh did I mention the theatre? One play I remember I enjoyed was Teahouse of the August Moon. James Shigata was the star, reprising the role he had in the film with Glenn Ford. The kids saw the star of Hawaii-5-0 on the street one day, and we saw the filming of the reenactment of the bombing of Pearl Harbor for the film ‘ToroToro Toro.

    I belonged to an officers wives group and we ate at every good Chinese restaurant on the island over time. We also attended many military functions, such as the Marine Corps Ball down on Waikiki.

    Hawaii boring? You’ve got to be kidding!

  3. Joanne Noragon Says:

    It’s good to appreciate home.

  4. Olga Hebert Says:

    Given all that, anyone who says that Hawaii is boring truly lacks imagination. I have heard people say the weather is boring, but to me it sounds ideal. Kind of like paradise!

  5. Leisha Says:

    I think there is a lot of culture in Hawaii , historical places and all the amazing hikes and places of natural beauty . Iolani Palace , Royal Mausoleum, Queen Emma’s Summer Palace, Pearl Harbour , so many things to do and see . I agree Gigi , paradise is never boring .

  6. Christine Says:

    It’s paradise all right!

  7. tokyo5 Says:

    How much does it cost to swim with dolphins? Sounds wonderful.

  8. Grannymar Says:

    It certainly sounds like paradise!

  9. Gwen Says:

    THEY are idiots. 😉

  10. happyforUboth!! Says:

    I know it is paradise the people I adore tell me all the time, they love that this is their home..They go everywhere and explore and enjoy the flora and fauna and the many cultural things offered..It is a paradise on earth moderate temperatures, loving people, absolute wonderful sunrises and sunsets..The culture is the main thing and the people with their traditions, love and peaceful nature..I say that the people who say it is boring would be bored in heaven..aloha to you and yours! have a peaceful loving week! aloha

  11. Honolulu Aunty Says:

    Some people just don’t belong in Paradise, or need to find their own place to call Paradise.

    If Paradise is boring, then I LOVE being bored!

    First time on your site – we have a lot in common – love art on the walls, good food, good life.

    Hope your health issues get resolved. I get modern medicine to diagnose but usually find natural or alternative ways to heal. For your shoulder and arm, may I suggest acupuncture by a master? Dr. Chang of World Medicine Institute way up in Aina Haina.

    Nice “meeting” you!

    Aunty

Leave a Reply

