Phantom pain

3-29-10-palms1-A

Hawaii.  Photo by Ted Trimmer.

Since June 25, I have been experiencing excruciating pain in my left upper arm and shoulder.  It comes and goes without rhyme or reason.  Is it bursitis?  I googled it and learned that the pain sometimes goes away.  If it doesn’t go away, a cortisone shot and physical therapy might help.

I remember having this condition in 2002.  I believe the diagnosis was bursitis, and I underwent six sessions of physical therapy (no cortisone shot).  Then, David and I traveled to Korea for five days, and the pain disappeared.

Now, in 2015, I have bursitis again, if that is what it is.  I take Tylenol, but it hasn’t helped.  I avoid Ibuprofen or Advil, as it causes colitis, which has been my experience in the past.

So, what to do?  I was tempted to go to the emergency room, but hesitated.  The reason for my hesitation is that, with my luck, the pain would disappear in the ER, and I would end up paying $65 for nothing.

Imaginary conversation:

Doctor:  “Why are you here?”

Me:  “Well, I thought I was in pain, but now, I am not in pain.”

As I said, the pain comes and goes.  Weird.

I already have an appointment with my internist next week regarding something else.  So, I’ll wait until then to complain about this phantom pain.

8 Responses to “Phantom pain”

  1. Joanne Noragon Says:

    It’s not phantom, it’s real. My money is on bursitis or a kind of arthritis I cannot recall the name of.

  2. Gwen Says:

    Is your blog pressure okay…no heart issues? Not to frighten you, but women heart issues can manifest in weird ways. Might want to talk to the internist about that, too. I hope it dissipates quickly. I mean, I know it’s not all the time, but I hope the next episode is far in the future.

  3. Tom Sightings Says:

    We have a walk-in clinic near us that handles just this kind of thing (saving the time and expense of the ER). But anyway, hope your internist figures it out, and that it feels better soon.

  4. Grannymar Says:

    Do not neglect the pain! Does it come from a soft area or does if feel like it is in the joint or bones? If soft area get it checked asap!

  5. Jan Says:

    I know little to nothing about these kinds of pains, but I’m glad you’re seeing somebody soon. 🙂

  6. Christine Says:

    hope it goes away soon and they can figure it out for you Gigi. It’s awful to be in pain.

  7. DeniseinVA Says:

    I’m sorry to hear that Gigi. Hope it goes away soon and you feel better.

  8. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Gosh I sure hope this wasn’t the sign of an impending heart attack. hope your pain goes away, but do get it checked out. It could be Angina.

Leave a Reply

