Bath/shower stool

David bought a stool for the bath/shower, because, after his total knee replacement surgery next Thursday, he will be in too much pain to stand in the tub.

Here is David, assembling the stool with our grandson Rylan’s assistance:

Bath stool 001-A

Click on the photos to enlarge them.

Bath stool 004-A

Bath stool 005-A

Bath stool 006-A

Bath stool 007-A

Bath stool 008-A

The stool fits well in the tub, so David should have no problem with it. I will have to help him bathe, especially his back.

I wonder, though, whether he will have difficulty getting out of the tub. The reason: He will have to step out with his left leg (the surgical leg). Won’t that be painful?  He might have to lean on my shoulders or the walker for support.

14 Responses to “Bath/shower stool”

  1. Linda Starr Says:

    Look at the two of them working together, how sweet. Good luck with David’s surgery.

  2. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    I hope you have installed the raised toilet and chair frame also. Very hard to move up and down after these joint surgeries. I know you have grab bars…they are great.

  3. Kailani Says:

    I’m sure he’ll need to use support to get in and out, for a while. Sorry about all of this. Cute photos of them together. Hugs and prayers.

  4. palolo Says:

    Lucky to shower together.

  5. Grannymar Says:

    Not sure about climbing into the bath. I think David should check with the hospital. It would be a shame to undo all the good work on the knee.

  6. Olga Says:

    Tubs get to be harder and harder, but you are fortunate to have such a good helper.

  7. Tom Sightings Says:

    I second Grannymar — ask the doctor/nurse/physical therapist what the best technique will be. Good luck … and enjoy your little helper there.

  8. Lorraine Says:

    I remember having to put blocks under the legs of the bed to raise it up for my mom after her hip surgery. The raised toilet seal will probably be necessary as he is such a tall man. Good luck to both of you.

  9. Jan Says:

    Those grab bars will come in really handy during his recovery. I’m not sure at all about how to deal with the tub issue. I agree that you should ask the doctor.

  10. Mary Flora Says:

    After my knee replacement 5 years ago, I was not allowed to shower for 2 weeks. I had to have the staples removed first and be sure the risk or infection had lessened. By that time, I had had enough therapy that moving into the tub to shower was not difficult. Sponge baths were not fun but you do what you have to. Mobility was not a problem after the surgery just the fear I might somehow harm the knee. Mary

  11. Christine Says:

    Gigi it might be time to install one of those tubs with doors. Great to have thought of getting the stool ready before surgery.

  12. dkzody Says:

    David’s physical therapist will have the answers. My friend who had her knee replaced had a great therapist who came to her home and worked with her to show how to utilize what she already had and what she needed to buy.

Leave a Reply

