Quitting being landlords

We have decided to quit being landlords and reclaim our master bedroom and bathroom. It will be nice to have the extra space for ourselves. We have given our tenant until September 15 to vacate the premises. It will be such a relief to have him gone.

This is how the room looked when the tenant moved in:

Ad-rental 002-A

Ad-rental 009-A

Ad-rental 008-A

The tenant will take his sofa, charcoal grill and clothing with him.  We will keep everything else.

David will move his king size bed and triple dresser into the master bedroom.  That way, he can use the master toilet with the hand rails permanently in place.  I will use the hallway bathroom, which will not have the hand rails and will be better for guests, too.

My husband and I are now sleeping in separate quarters and have been doing so since mid-May. He kept getting up throughout the night to go to the bathroom, and when he did, he woke me up. As he ages, it will only get worse.

Now that we sleep separately, I have been able to sleep better.  It’s heavenly.  I plan to move the full size bed and night stand from the tenant’s room to Maria’s room, which then will become mine.

Lisa’s room will be reserved for Lisa, when she visits us in Hawaii.

It will be a nightmare juggling all this furniture, but I hope we all end up happier with this new arrangement.

12 Responses to “Quitting being landlords”

  1. Linda Starr Says:

    hope you get someone to help you move all that furniture don’t want either of you to get any shoulder injuries,

  2. Jan Says:

    I’m sorry your tenant didn’t work out. I hope you won’t miss the extra income too much.

  3. Hattie Says:

    I’m glad we have been lucky with our rentals. It’s not always in the cards. You need the room for yourselves.

  4. Grannymar Says:

    i wondered how the tenant was working out, at least you tried and can regain possession of the room for David.

  5. DeniseinVA Says:

    It sounds like you are happier with this situation, glad it is going to work out okay.

  6. Kailani Says:

    Sounds like a much needed solution. Glad you figured this out. 🙂

  7. palolo Says:

    I thought the tenant was quiet and kept to himself? What happen or is it confidential?

  8. Christine Says:

    Interesting changes going on.

  9. dkzody Says:

    I’m under the impression the tenant was fine, it was just the room you wanted to reclaim. I can understand, especially the bathroom. I cannot imagine living with only one bathroom. My, how spoiled I’ve become!

  10. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    We moved into separate rooms ages ago. We just can’t sleep together anymore as one or the other of us is up and down all night. David has slept Apnea and snoring which he does not address.

    It was either get separate rooms or murder. The fact that one or the other of us has had a joint replacement the past few years also made a huge difference. The last thing you need when you are healing from surgery is a kick in the night.

    We will be married 33 years tomorrow and made it thnks to separate rooms.

  11. Beatrice Says:

    Interesting comments regarding your decision, Gigi, and it seems to me that it was a personal decision based on the needs of you and David which is perfectly understandable.

  12. ohmygoodnesssakes! Says:

    I get up all the time at night, guess my cardio rhythyms are out of sinc. I read at Kaiser that women have different early cardio rhythyms and they wake easily, I sleep in a separate bedroom so I don’t wake up my hubs who stays up late and sleeps in, no more work for him, who cares what others think one must get a decent night sleep in order to enjoy ones life..As for boarders, my aunt my mothers only sibling and my living member of my Mother’s family had many boarders in her big home, it was a big hassle, she finally said no more and just upped her working schedule she is self employed, she never missed the boarders she had rentals too..She always worked so hard nearly 100 now and enjoying her life..thanks to God..Praying for your husband to heal quickly and for you both to have a good time together quietly peacefully and healthfully..aloha!

Leave a Reply

