Be adventurous

“You’re a good cook,” David said, “so much better than my mother.”

His mother lacked imagination and the Internet, so she couldn’t look up recipes on a whim. Just the same old thing week after week.

Part of the problem was her husband, who was very conservative when it came to food. I remember inviting him to dinner when his wife was in the hospital. He did NOT like the spaghetti with meat sauce I served him. His idea of acceptable cuisine was meat and potatoes. Definitely not spaghetti.

What would he have said about my shrimp and zucchini stir-fry?

Shrimp and Zucchini 003-A

Tonight, David and I are going to dine at Champa Thai, our favorite Thai restaurant in Hawaii. My in-laws would not have liked Thai cuisine:

Champa Thai 007-A

Thank goodness David is like me and not like them. Being world travelers, we eat the food that the natives eat in their respective countries. Why eat a hamburger in a place like Hong Kong:

052

or Tokyo?

tokyo-oshima-sushi-a

12 Responses to “Be adventurous”

  1. Linda Starr Says:

    Gary and I are the same as you and David, we like all different foods, but my sister likes meat and potatoes, how boring, when I was a teenager my mom found out I like to cook and she let me, cause she hated it, she made the same old things, me I’ll try just about anything.

  2. DeniseinVA Says:

    It’s fun to try different foods. I grew up in a meat and potato household but my mother was a marvelous cook and I wasn’t aware of a different style of cuisine other than her meals, which I never complained about because they were delicious. However, when I came to America my eyes were opened to different possibilities. Fortunately Gregg is like David loves trying different things. In fact he is the one who opened up endless possibilities because of his traveling in the navy and trying all kinds of wonderful food. We love Thai food also.

  3. Olga Says:

    Experiencing the food is part of the fun of travel to different lands. Some people let their worlds become too small.

  4. Kailani Says:

    I am not very adventurous. Re food, or really, much else. I get it. But I’m proud of you two, and people like my oldest daughter who tries everything. 🙂

  5. Linda Reeder Says:

    I am not a very adventurous eater, and eating food I’m not used to can give me digestive issues. Even when traveling I stick to pretty basic stuff. Food is only one way to get the flavor of a new place.

  6. joared Says:

    My mother cooked a variety of delicious foods but fairly routine because this was what my Dad wanted. She told me how she fixed lamb chops one time but didn’t tell him what they were. He ate several commenting about how tasty they were, so she told him they were lamb. He told her never to fix them again for him. Who knows what goes on with people about food sometimes.

    Glad to read in earlier posts that your husband’s recovery is progressing well with physical therapy.

  7. Jan Says:

    I am also willing to experience new foods, but I still like my old standby steamed veggies the best for everyday fare. I have sampled the menus when in different countries and remember loving the Greek food! 🙂

  8. Tom Sightings Says:

    At the risk of stereotyping, it may depend on your background. If your mother was Italian, probably a good cook. If your mother was English or Irish (as mine was), probably a bad cook. The odd thing was that it was my dad, who was not Irish, who insisted on having potatoes for dinner every night. A meal was not a meal without potatoes. As you might imagine … today, I am not a big fan of potatoes (altho’ I love B’s potato salad in the summer).

  9. ohmygoodnesssakes! Says:

    We love to try everything in a new place yes we do..i especially enjoy Asian, Hawaiian and Thai foods, but I am Spanish so I also enjoy latin and Cuban and Peruvian fare..Why not try a little of everything to get a chance to enjoy what other countries and cultures indulge daily, no harm no fowl I say..Good that your hubs is healing so fast and that his health is being restored, one’s health is really one’s wealth without one’s health one cannot really do much in this short life on this terrestrial aloha to you both and peace, joy and love…

  10. Christine Says:

    Hard to believe David eats so differently than his parents, a good thing.

  11. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Food travle is fun. I sure miss some of the good things I ate overseas, or even traveling here in the States. The fish in Florida was grand!

  12. marmeladegypsy Says:

    Interesting! Rick says the same thing about my cooking versus his mom’s, for which I am grateful! I love to enjoy travel dining. It’s such fun!

Leave a Reply

