Things still up in the air

michels-harp-a

Soothing harp music at Michel’s in Waikki.

There are several things still up in the air to be dealt with. Here’s what’s up:

  1. You might recall that I had been experiencing intermittent chest and arm pain. To rule out heart disease, I underwent a stress echo test at Pali Momi Medical Center on Thursday. The cardiologist told me my heart looks normal, but he would study my EKG and then send a report to my internist. Still waiting for that report.
  2. David’s painkiller, oxycodone, is almost gone. He was told by a physician’s assistant that it is highly unlikely that this drug will be refilled, because it is addictive. If David’s pain persists, he will be prescribed a different, less addictive drug. Ironically, there was a recent news item about a robber pointing a gun at a pharmacist and running off with oxycodone pills. No, David does not intend to do this.
  3. My grandkids are coming here this evening, because their parents will be attending a wedding. I will have to tell my 5 year old grandson not to touch my paper work on my desk and not to unscrew the knobs on my drawers. Grrr. That kid!

And that’s it, folks! Enjoy your weekend!

P.S.  My internist just informed me that my stress echo test results are normal and that my chest and arm pain is not due to my heart.  It might be due to acid reflux disease.  I will see her again in January for a recheck.

12 Responses to “Things still up in the air”

  1. Jan Says:

    Glad to hear your heart seems fine. I was on oxycontin in 2000 when I had my accident, and getting off an addictive drug is very hard, so I do hope he gets something else if he still needs it. He’s doing so well, but managing pain is important. 🙂

  2. Denise Alexandra Says:

    My father-in-law was on the oxycodone in hospital. Strong stuff! Glad your heart looks okay, good to get that check on the block. Enjoy your grandchildren 🙂

  3. Kailani Says:

    So relieved that your echo test came back normal. 🙂 Hope the pain situation is handled well, and that soon he will be off the stuff entirely. 🙂

  4. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    You are funny. I know how it feels to be surrounded by males who have their own agenda. Yes, oxycodone is addictive. It’s a dirivative of heroin. Too scary. Happy to hear the medical establishment has wised up a bit.

  5. Joanne Noragon Says:

    Poor David. I hope he finds a good substitute soon. I’m surprised he still feels that much pain. And speaking of pain, inquisitive little ones can be quite the pain somewhere beside the knee.

  6. Christine Says:

    have a fun evening and hope Rylan doesn’t upset your paperwork, I get crazy when my paperwork is disturbed lol. All the best to David.

  7. Olga Says:

    I am hoping both you and David both resolve the health issues without trouble.

  8. Tom Sightings Says:

    Good news that your heart is okay. Could it be spinal stenosis? That’s what I had … it caused some pain, but actually it was more about my arm tingling and buzzing and falling asleep. It was PT that finally fixed me up.

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    The sooner one gets off of Oxy the better! It’s better to have a little pain. Glad your heart isn’t acting up.

  10. Kay G. Says:

    My husband has acid reflux and it causes growths on his throat and they have had to be surgically removed. Gee, that acid reflux causes all kind of problems. Hope you find out what is happening with you. My Dad says it is called medical practice because they PRACTICE on you, they don’t really know! LOL.

  11. Linda Starr Says:

    hope all is well with your heart; when I had my shoulder pain I started cutting my oxy in half then in quarters to make it last. I also got some previously for another problem and I didn’t really need them so I saved them just in case I have pain again. It’s getting to the point where criminals can get pain pills but those really needing them can’t get them; for acid reflux sleep with the head slightly up at night, don’t eat after 5 pm; Gary has had a pancreatic attack from fried food, he now cannot eat fried foods, soda pop, no alcohol; does your pain radiate to the back from the front? if so that’s pancreatitis

  12. Beatrice Says:

    Glad to hear that your problems are not heart related, Gigi. And good for David to get off any addictive meds. Hope you had a good visit with the grandchildren, despite your misgivings.

Leave a Reply

