He’s a pack rat

I opened the shed the other day and was shocked to see it crammed with all sorts of junk. This is so typical of David. He tends to be a pack rat and is totally disorganized:

shed 001-A

Imagine what our house would look like if he were the homemaker. It certainly would not look as nice, clean, and tidy as it looks now.

I told him that if something has not been used during the past five years, then chances are it will not be used during the next five years.

Therefore, out it goes!

Since a landscaping company cleans our yard once a month, our lawnmower should be dumped. Why keep it in the shed?

Another thing that needs to be discarded is our ugly artificial Christmas tree. It’s a horrible little thing.

And what’s all that scrap wood for? Bait for termites?

David and I will debate over each item that I want removed from the premises.

Before you know it, that shed will be devoid of clutter and will be completely reorganized. We will be able to walk in there and actually find the things we want without pawing through a mound of unnecessary stuff.

Yes, he is a pack rat and I am not.

11 Responses to “He’s a pack rat”

  1. Joanne Noragon Says:

    He’s probably grateful. And if not, too bad.

  2. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    David is not allowed to put anything in MY garden shed and it’s very tidy. His shop and bedroom are a disaster. i have been tossing items surreptitiously and slowly the shop is beginning to look good. I finally got him to part with his bike (Bicycles for the World) and gave mine to my granddaughter. Slowly, slowly things are improving.

  3. Jan Says:

    Um, I’m afraid I’m the David in this issue. I tend to pile instead of file, but Smart Guy is a tosser of things unused. Fortunately, he would never DREAM of going through my things and tidying things up. I would never be able to find anything again! 🙂

  4. palolo Says:

    David better keep on moving. If he doesn’t rehab Gigi may throw him out with the lawnmower.

  5. Tom Sightings Says:

    We have the same issue but B is the packrat. The things is, isn’t that the way of the world … packrats mate with thrower-outers?

  6. Olga Says:

    You made me laugh–bait for termites!
    Mike was a collector of certain antiques, but although he had a lot of stuff you wouldn’t really know it to look at our house. He was very tidy and very organized. He would have said I was the one who tended toward messy–something no one else would call me. I am definitely the one who throws things away.

  7. dkzody Says:

    Good for you for getting rid of unnecessary things. Our kitchen window looks out on the house across the street where the two gals have to park their brand new cars outside because their 2-car garage is jam-packed with junk they don’t use. Any time they have the garage door open, I cringe. It is such a mess. How do people live like that?

  8. Lisa Isabella Russo Says:

    I’m definitely the pack rat here… It’s so hard for me to part with anything, I see potential in quite a lot of things…
    http://www.lisarusso.com

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    We are both collectors, but the house stays organized. the garage – not so much.

  10. Beatrice Says:

    Since relocating from a house to,an apt, we are both learning not to hold on to so much stuff. It is an ongoing challenge.

  11. marmeladegypsy Says:

    You and David may debate, but I have a sneaking suspicion you are going to win!

Leave a Reply

