The Rainbow Room

lani-a

This was me with my dog, Lani, in New York City, 1973.

As you probably know, I lived in New York City from 1970-1975, attending Columbia University and taking private violin and piano lessons. Since then, I have been back only twice, 1987 and 1997. So, it’s been a while.

Meanwhile, what memories I have, particularly of the fun David and I had at the Rainbow Room in 1997. This was an elegant restaurant, located in Rockefeller Center above the NBC studio, with a great view of the city.

I remember we had to dress up. I wore a cocktail dress and high heels, while David wore a coat and tie.

We were seated at a table that was covered with a white cloth and set with fine china, crystal goblets, and silverware. We dined on braised rabbit and sipped champagne.

There was a dance floor, and a Big Band combo performed first, followed by a Latino combo. David and I had been taking ballroom dance lessons in Hawaii for a number of years, so we were ready to boogie.

Imagine us dancing the fox trot – slow, slow, quick, quick, slow, slow…

Then, imagine us dancing the cha cha cha – one, two, cha cha cha…

We danced between bites of that braised rabbit. Thank goodness the waiter had enough sense not to clear our table while we were dancing. That food and champagne were still there when we returned from the dance floor.

So much fun! Even now, years later, this memory brings a smile to my face.

7 Responses to “The Rainbow Room”

  1. Linda Starr Says:

    wow, you’ve had such an interesting life, so much the better to have the memories this many years later.

  2. Joanne Noragon Says:

    New York must have many memories for a brave young woman.
    New York is a little too much for me; on my several visits I took my daughter or a friend, undaunted by the noise and the movement.

  3. Christine Says:

    It does sound fun! Gorgeous photo, pretty lady!

  4. Jan Says:

    It was a memorable event, obviously. How wonderful to have such memories. Thanks for sharing it. 🙂

  5. DeniseinVA Says:

    How wonderful and that’s a great memory. Thanks for sharing it.

  6. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Indeed, a special memory.

  7. marmeladegypsy Says:

    What a wonderful photo of you, and what a special memory of the Rainbow Room. It’s a spot I’ve always wanted to visit!

Leave a Reply

