Good people with kind hearts

6-5-10-hawaii yacht club races-A

Hawaii.  Photo by Ted Trimmer.

Target Stores in Hawaii are usually safe, but a few months ago an armed robber was caught there by police. It’s always this type of story that hits the newspaper, isn’t it? We rarely hear about the good things that people do for each other.

I would like to tell you about two people who helped me at Target recently – without being asked or told to do so.

Wednesday morning, I was pushing my cart in the grocery section of the store. I noticed two middle aged women, looking at bottled water (24 bottles per case so it was heavy). One woman said, “Let’s buy two cases for the hurricane.” She hauled the two cases to her cart. Then she asked me, “Do you want water, too? I can help you with it.” I was surprised, but said, “Okay.” She placed a case on the bottom of my cart and asked if I wanted a second case. I said, “No, thank you. This is so nice of you.”

After paying for my groceries, I took the elevator to the parking lot and began loading the food into my trunk. A middle aged man (who was not a Target employee) said, “Let me help you with the water.” He picked up the case from the bottom of my cart and placed it in my trunk. I beamed and said, “Thank you so much.”

As I write this piece, I wonder what made these two people help me. Do I look like a little old lady? Do I look pregnant? Hmmm.

Maybe, they were just good people with kind hearts! I am so grateful!

10 Responses to “Good people with kind hearts”

  1. Joanne Noragon Says:

    They were good people with kind hearts.

  2. Jan Says:

    I agree with Joanne. Good people and looking for ways to help others. 🙂

  3. Christine Says:

    whatever the reason, help is good! I think they were just kind people!

  4. DeniseinVA Says:

    I think they are just people with kind hearts and I think that is wonderful! Thank you for sharing that Gigi, very uplifting.

  5. palolo Says:

    People in Hawaii do this all time. Offering to help people is the old Hawaiian way.

  6. mmmm Says:

    I have a oweee on my side so I kinda limp now and then! I always ask if others can help me out when I try and try and can’t lift the pkgs to my cart at the grocery store..When I grocery shop I always look to help someone who can’t reach the top of the shelves for the item as I am only 5 feet 2 now I used to be almost 5 foot 3..Being kind and helpful was taught to me, but I think you live where people are kinder and more helpful..I have many native of Hawaii friends when I visited them this is many years ago and still see them stateside I was so impressed by their love and peace and joy for everyone, it is sadly not the case stateside..They do not have the Hawaiian I call it mojo they don’t – it pains me to ask for help but sometimes I cannot reach the top shelves and sometimes my side hurts too bad…I say a prayer and an angel will appear I like to think it is my karma, we are in the family of mankind and why or why can’t we think of this and exude peace, joy and love like they do in paradise where you live in Hawaii!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. Beatrice Says:

    My vote is for folks being kind and helpful, which is nice!

  8. Tom Sightnigs Says:

    People want to help those who are grateful, and I think they sensed that.

  9. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    We have offers of help all the time these days. Restores your faith in the human race. In the doctor’s office, a gal who helped me put my socks on told me, after I thanked her for her help, someday, someone will have to help me. I think this is what the kids call paying it forward.

  10. dkzody Says:

    My friend who had a walker was always getting offers of assistance. She felt that the general population was very kind if they saw a person like herself with her walker.

Leave a Reply

