A man cave

We bade a fond aloha to my in-laws from Boston last Friday at The Willows.

Here we are: (Left) David, me, Victoria, Amanda, Julia, Michael, Shirley, Grant, Maria and Rylan:

Mike and family 001-A

Click on the photo to enlarge it.

It will be nice to see them again next year.

Since David wants his bedroom to be a “man cave,” we have been shopping for new furniture. Last week, a dresser with mirror and two nightstands replaced the ones he’d bought in 1979.  It was about time we got rid of that old junk.

I noticed that the paintings in his man cave were too feminine.  So I replaced the feminine paintings, depicting roses and a garden, with more masculine paintings, depicting Kaneohe Bay and an autumn scene in Japan.  Now, his cave looks like it belongs to a man.

The flower paintings have been moved to our family room and dining area.

It was just a matter of switching the art around, and it’s refreshing to see the paintings in their new locations.

Arriving soon:  A leather Lazy Boy recliner and a glass side table — both for David’s TV viewing pleasure.

I enjoy finding ways to improve our home.  My hubby says that I am “a fine homemaker.”

Now, what would a “woman cave” look like?

12 Responses to “A man cave”

  1. Linda Starr Says:

    men and their man caves, Ha.

  2. Jan Says:

    How nice that David will have his own “man cave.” My husband has one, too, that is filled with computers and he spends an inordinate amount of time in there. I never go in there so it’s a mystery to me. 🙂

  3. Hattie Says:

    I have a “woman cave,” my office next to Terry’ s office. He also has a lab downstairs. He is a scientist and still works for a high tech company. I would like for him to retire completely,but his work means too much to him.

  4. mmmm Says:

    I think you both have a great relationship..Many people who are retired get into each other’s way..My hubs goes to a Library and we both Volunteer places together..But he has a room with just his stuff I never enter and I put a lot of things on my kitchen table and he never moves anything..People need their space I say after 41 years almost 42 I think people need to chill and be kind and loving because what one person likes the other might not like and to respect their wishes..aloha, hoping the winds have died down and not much rain..peace, joy and love!

  5. Beatrice Says:

    Since we have downsized to an apt we share a tech “cave” which is really just the 2nd BR that we decided not to use as such. We have 2 small Ikea desks and bookshelves and file cabinets and PC equioment. We can work comfortably together in there or if one or the other wants to be alone, then go into the living room or on the enclosed sun porch to read or listen to music or chat on the ohine. You need to make things work jn the space you have available and it seems you and David manage to do that as well, Gigi.

  6. Christine Says:

    The changes sound lovely!

  7. Olga Says:

    Your space always seems so pleasant and comfortable as well as stylish. You are a fine homemaker.

  8. Tom Sightnigs Says:

    A leather Lazy Boy recliner — always wanted one of those!

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    No caves here, just a large house where now only two people live. While tom and I are frequently in different parts of the house, we always like to know where the other is and what they are doing.

  10. palolo Says:

    Did your renter move out to make room for David?

  11. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    I’m wondering where your woman cave will be?

Leave a Reply

