Sitting too much

Elegant chairs to sit on at a fancy restaurant in Waikiki (2007).

David has been improving his left leg strength by seeing his physical therapist three times per week. He now drives himself everywhere and does not need help from me anymore.

David had his total knee replacement surgery on July 30, and on September 9, he will see the doctor to determine whether or not he can go to the gym to swim in the pool and sit in the hot tub to chat with his cronies. He truly misses exercising and socializing at the gym. The doctor told him that the pool and tub were off-limits until his wound healed. We’ll see what he says on September 9.

We have been shopping at Target and Costco, getting some exercise that way. We tend to sit far too much. I sit in front of the computer, and David sits in front of the TV. This is no way to reduce our butts and our bellies.

However, we will continue to babysit our grandkids. This type of sitting is acceptable.

11 Responses to “Sitting too much”

  1. Linda Starr Says:

    I’m guilty of sitting too much, sitting at computer, at my chair in my studio when I make clay, and now a painting class, perhaps we can motivate each other to do some walking. Problem is our driveway is so steep but then again it would help if I walked up and down it. Ha.

  2. Jan Says:

    I’ve started using that app that counts your steps. I may sit quite a bit, but I still manage to get in more than 12,000 steps a day. I like being motivated by something that counts my steps. 🙂

  3. Christine Says:

    so happy David’s knee is doing so well!

  4. Joanne Noragon Says:

    I sit way too much. Oh well.

  5. Tom Sightnigs Says:

    I didn’t think I sit too much. Then we went on vacation and swam and walked and rode bikes; and boy did I get stiff and achy. Then I realized: normally, at home, I sit too much. Should do something about that. Anyway … hope David gets a good report and can get back to his favorite activities.

  6. Linda Reeder Says:

    I don’t sit much during the day, except for my hour at lunch time. But I do sit most of the evening. We walk 3.5 miles most days.

  7. Kay G. Says:

    This summer I have been guilty of sitting too much but as soon as the cooler weather arrives, my husband and I hope to hit the trails and walk! Going to Stone Mountain today and climb it, last week we did it THE RAIN but it was still wonderful.
    Get out there, if you can, you are in Hawaii!!! 🙂

  8. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    We haven’t been sitting much this week, unless you count sitting in doctor’s offices. Good news about David. I hope my David heals as quickly.

  9. Olga Says:

    My daughter once asked me to write her a note to get her out of H.S. phys. ed. class, saying it was against our religion. She knew I wouldn’t do it since exercise practically is my religion. Having the time for exercise is my favorite part of retirement.

  10. DeniseinVA Says:

    That is good news about David. I hope his doctor allows him to get back into the pool. My sprained ankle has healed enough now that I can resume my walking. I’m looking forward to it.

  11. Beatrice Says:

    Walking is one of the things we enjoy and you are right about we can sit too much when at home, Gigi. And babysitting your grandchildren will keep you active for sure.

Leave a Reply

