Time with my grandkids

Here are photos of my grandchildren, Julia (age 7) and Rylan (age 5), playing in my family room. I watched them all day Friday, when they had the day off from school and their parents had to work.

Watching their iPad:

Grandkids 001-A

Playing with Julia’s figurines:

Grandkids 004-A

Watching their iPad again:

Grandkids 005-A

Eating lunch:

Grandkids 008-A

We also had a delightful conversation.

Me: “Juju, what’s your favorite subject in third grade?”

Julia: “Math. We are learning how to estimate.”

Me: “What do you do when you estimate?”

Julia: “We have to round off to the nearest ten.”

Me: “Oh, okay. How about you, Rylan, do you like kindergarten?”

Rylan: “No, because they won’t let me take a nap. I always feel so tired.”

Me: “That’s too bad. What do you like best about kindergarten?”

Rylan: “Recess. We have two recesses.”

Me: “Who is the smartest boy in your class?”

Rylan: “Me. I am the smartest, because the other boys always get in trouble.”

Me: “You never get in trouble?”

Rylan: “No.  Well, sometimes. But, only a little bit.”

Me:  “Oh, I see, I see.”

***

It’s always a joy to be with my grandkids. They won’t remain this age forever. Eventually, they won’t need to be babysat, and I will see less of them. Sad, but true.

9 Responses to “Time with my grandkids”

  1. Jan Says:

    They are truly adorable and do well behaved! I love your conversations, Gigi. 🙂

  2. Joanne Noragon Says:

    Grandchildren never reach a bad age; they’re always good to be with.

  3. Hattie Says:

    I know how hard children have to work in school these days and how much they are expected to learn. They sound very smart, both of them, and quite self aware, too.

  4. Christine Says:

    sounds like you are enjoying this precious time Gigi! Kids grow up so fast.

  5. Olga Says:

    You are lucky to have these two bright and resourceful youngsters around.

  6. Denise Alexandra Says:

    What a joy they are.

  7. coffeeonthebeach Says:

    Love your “discussion”. Cute. I’m a blogger but but mainly on blogspot. I have a bible blog on wordpress but daily blog on http://backporchtales.blogspot.com/ if you want to check it out and visit. I have put you on my blog roll. Have been looking for some bloggers that blog a lot about daily life. A lot of my circles have quit writing and are on facebook all the time. So I had time today to search and find a few more to add to my blog circles. Have a great labor day!

  8. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Recess…the best part of the school day. Love it.

  9. Musings Says:

    Oh gracious! No naps in kindergarten anymore? That’s terrible!

Leave a Reply

