Have you ever been sued?

from rockpile 2009-surfing-A

Hawaii.  Photo by Ted Trimmer.

As a legal assistant years ago, I remember how exciting it was to prepare for trial. Despite the stress, it was so exhilarating when we won. On the other hand, it was so depressing when we lost.

I remember one client who was injured when his stool collapsed at a pizza restaurant. On the eve of trial, my boss told me to draw a picture of a stool, since the broken stool had been discarded by the restaurant. I drew a stool, but my boss told me to make it look more flimsy. I did my best, and my boss took the drawing to court the next day. It was never presented to the jury. I guess the drawing was not necessary, because the jury awarded our client $50,000.

Another client sued her ex-lover for mental distress and money he owed her. The jury awarded her $1.1 million. My boss was thrilled. The problem was collecting the money, since the defendant was judgment-proof. All of his assets were in his sister’s name. Very clever of him.

Then, there was the client who slipped and fell on an oily surface at a gas station. To settle the case, he was offered $25,000, but he rejected the offer, because he wanted more money. We went to trial, and the jury ruled against him. He got nothing. He was so pissed off, he left Hawaii for good.

Personally, I have never been sued, nor have I sued anyone. Litigation is mentally, emotionally, and physically exhausting. It is not for the faint of heart.

8 Responses to “Have you ever been sued?”

  1. Linda Starr Says:

    same here, never either way, although I could use a bunch of money ha, once sat on a trial of someone who sued someone, found out after the trail that they had sued lots of time but it wasn’t admissable to jury had no idea that’s how they made their living

  2. Joanne Noragon Says:

    I once sued the city school district to allow my children to be dropped off at their day care, not my empty house. The bus went by both places. I lost. That was in the sixties, when mothers were kept out of the workplace in many ways.

  3. Jan Says:

    I’ve never been sued or sued anyone. When I was hit by a truck while on my bicycle years ago, several lawyers came to my hospital room to try to convince me to sue. I declined and received a small settlement anyway. I don’t have the stomach for such things. 🙂

  4. Denise Alexandra Says:

    Fortunately I have never been put in that position either way.

  5. Olga Says:

    I have not been sued nor sued anyone. It seems to be a very strange system to me, designed to take a bad situation and grind every last ounce of pain out of it and then stretch that pain to the maximum degree for all parties involved.
    I did once take a career aptitude test. My aptitude for a legal career was pretty close to zero so perhaps my opinion does not count.

  6. ohmygoodnesssakes! Says:

    I had to sue to get the compensation owed to me, the attorney did it pro bono he did only 3 a year..It took forever, the deposition was so uncomfortable I nearly passed out I was ill at the time, but the judge who oversaw the whole thing sided with me and I finally got the compensation plus attorney fees, it was 27 years ago this past May..it was terrible, family wanted all the money, I got a phone in my name only and never answered their pleas for money I worked like hell to actually get, my hubs and only child got the money and paid off our home. case closed! Never would I go thru it again, if it was not honestly owed to me and the crooks thought they could shove a lady I am short around! Lawyers make enormous when they try cases plain and simple, the poor have no justice in the mainland where I live..I have seen the attorney several times, I think the only reason he did it pro bono is he is of the same religion of my hubs and respects the fact people don’t get really any justice on this earth!

  7. Christine Says:

    very interesting, not fun though.

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    I have not been sued nor sued anyone. Fortunately there has been no reason for either.

Leave a Reply

