“Woman cave”

Woman cave 003-A

dresser 003-A

See this dresser? It is part of my “woman cave.” I have a right to call it a woman cave, because David and I have been sleeping in separate rooms since May. I just love getting more sleep and having my very own space.

Click on the photos to enlarge them.

You will note the five vases, which are rarely used. I am reluctant to discard or donate them, mainly because they are just too damn pretty. They were gifts; I did not buy them.

The three flashlights were purchased in case there is a power outage at night. David also has a flashlight in his room, and there is another one in the family room. We are definitely prepared!

And those stacks of bills? The bills on the left are mine to pay, and the bills on the right are David’s. Since we have separate bank accounts, we reconcile the amounts we pay for things like electricity, water, and landscaping and determine at the end of the month how much we owe each other. Sometimes, he owes me money or vice-versa.

Note the dearth of cosmetics on my dresser. I don’t wear make-up, cream, moisturizer, or sunscreen. I just wash my face with Ivory soap and water and try to stay out of the sun.

And that’s my Bernini leather handbag on the far left. It’s the only one I use. I don’t understand why some women own so many handbags, when one is sufficient.

So, what’s on top of your dresser?

P.S.  What’s on my shelves?  Top:  Iron and hats.  Bottom:  Electric wok, paper cutter, Kleenex, and pills.

PPS.  The mirror reflects my wallpapered accent wall and a painting by my artist-friend, Flo Miyahira, of her white poodle.

12 Responses to ““Woman cave””

  1. DJan Says:

    I am nowhere near as organized. My dresser contains piles of books and magazines I still need to get to. You won’t be seeing a picture of mine! 🙂

  2. Christine Says:

    I actually don’t have a dresser, I use the bathroom sink and mirror, it has a counter. But it does house my perfume, antiperspirant, moisturizer, etc.

  3. Kailani Says:

    One bag is not sufficient if you want to be coordinated with the colors of the season, or with a specific outfit. 😛

  4. Denise Alexandra Says:

    It is good to be organized. I have my moments!

  5. Tom Sightings Says:

    We do separate finances, too, except for the house account. But then we’re second-time-arounders who aren’t even married quite yet. It’s good to have two “caves” as well, if you have the space. And two bathrooms too.

  6. Hattie Says:

    Your woman cave is a model of neatness. Mine is a mess,but I know where everything is.

  7. Olga Says:

    I think life is so much better when each person has a his or her own space. And money!

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    I guess it works well for some people but I can’t imagine having two separate accounts. The money earned by both of us has always been family money and how it is spent has always been jointly decided. I pay all of the bills and do all of the accounting.

    Gigi, this was quite an interesting post – very revealing. I learned a lot about you from this post.

  9. ohmygoodnesssakes! Says:

    I have the task of paying all the bills but I do have a separate bank account a savings account…I have to sleep in our spare bedroom or I would not get any sleep whatsoever!!!!!!!!!!!! I have learned to budget from my hubs, know about our accounts IRA/Savings, funds etc. we are on everything together except the savings account in case of a big emergency..We are married 42 years and it works for us..neither of us came from homes where any of the parents had any money whatsoever, my hubs a dad who was never around 8 other siblings and a mom who did like to cook,clean or do much of anything, yet her first husband left her a bundle when he died in that he left her the highest amount social security gives to survivors of marriages that lasted for more than 10 years, she was lucky money wise but as far as being married she was busted she married men who liked to run after other women, her many kids helped her mainly my hubs..so now I spoil my hubs enormously he was the oldest and expected to do everything for his mom and rascal siblings..He is good, kind and loving and we moved far far away from his Mom and siblings to have some peace, not everyone comes from families that care like yours does for you and your hubs..aloha!

  10. ohmygoodnesssakes! Says:

    I meant to say my husbands mother DID NOT COOK, CLEAN OR DO MUCH OF ANYTHING, IF YOU COUNT SMOKING AND TRYING TO GO ON GAMBLING JUNKETS!

  11. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    You are probably the only person I know with a wok in her bedroom. I love the white furniture against the white wall. Virginia Woolfe said every woman needs a ‘room of her own’, (a great essay by the way).

  12. Beatrice Says:

    It’s great that your home has enough space for you and David to each have your own space to escape to and to sleep.mthanks for sharing what is in yiur woman cave.

Leave a Reply

