Squash

For the past two months, my Vietnamese neighbors have been growing these vines on my patio fence:

Squash 001-A

Squash hang from those vines:

Squash 003-A

Squash 004-A

I remember my father growing squash in his backyard in Manoa Valley. My mother cooked it with soy sauce and beef or chicken every night until the squash was used up. I was so bored with this type of food. It was endless and monotonous. So, it’s no wonder that I no longer eat it.

My yardman, who is Filipino, asked me if he could take a squash home. He said he would cook it with tomatoes and onions with a splash of Patis (Filipino fish sauce).

I was happy to let him have it.

Do you like squash? If so, how do you cook it?

9 Responses to “Squash”

  1. Linda Starr Says:

    I’ve been getting crookneck and I saute with onion and garlic and vinegar and then when it’s soft I add lots of curry powder and about a quarter cup of sour cream to make the curry powder adhere to the squash; it’s really good you should try it.

  2. Linda Reeder Says:

    We eat a lot of zucchini squash in the summer time; We like it just sauteed with olive oil or butter and some fresh basil, or split and grilled with the same seasonings, of sliced, coated with olive oil, panko and Parmesan cheese and baked. And of course as an ingredient in a stir fry or in pesto pasta with chicken or shrimp.
    In the winter we love baked acorn squash. To has his with butter and brown sugar, and i like it with butter and salt and pepper.

  3. Kailani Says:

    here is a delicious, easy, HEALTHY squash recipe: https://mysunnynook.wordpress.com/2013/08/16/parmesan-crusted-summer-squash/

  4. dkzody Says:

    Lots of summer squash in our csa box. I’ve been roasting the squash along with tomatoes, eggplant, peppers, onions, and garlic. Then I chop all the veggies together and make a pasta sauce.

  5. Denise Alexandra Says:

    I don’t eat squash very often but I do like zucchini. I see a lot of recipes using the spaghetti squash which I have never tried but am curious about.

  6. DJan Says:

    I love squash in all its forms, but I have to say I’ve never seen one like that one in your yard! 🙂

  7. Christine Says:

    I love squash, what a bounty! I use it mostly in soups, I should use it more.

  8. Hattie Says:

    It may be the growing conditions here,but I don’t think squash is very tasty.

  9. Grannymar Says:

    My favourite is butternut squash, in fact I used it in a soup with rhubarb a few weeks ago.

Leave a Reply

