We would love to visit Iran

aquarium-3-a

A trained seal at the Waikiki Aquarium, 2008.

Two of my friends are traveling right now. One friend is in Iran, and the other is in France. I am simply amazed that these friends, who are my age, have the wherewithal to do this. How I envy them!

I have already been to Paris. It was cold and rainy during the two weeks I was there in November 1969, but I enjoyed seeing the sights.

David and I would love to visit Iran. I’ll ask my friend about her experiences when she returns.

I wonder what Iranian cuisine is like. Spicy or bland? Vegetarian or meaty? The only way to find out is to go there. Sooner or later, we just might.

What do you think of the Iranian deal with the USA? I tend to agree with President Obama that it is a step in the right direction.

After all, what is the alternative? More hostility and hatred between the two countries?

10 Responses to “We would love to visit Iran”

  1. DJan Says:

    I hope to hear more about your friends’ visit, and perhaps you and David will go there and you’ll write all about it! 🙂

  2. Kailani Says:

    Well, Iran would be down near the bottom of my travel bucket list, but I applaud anyone’s quest to live theirs. 🙂

  3. palolo Says:

    Is it safe for American tourist? I also wonder about the food. Is the food safe to eat from street vendors, or must you eat in hotels and fine restaurants. Gigi you are brave to want to go to the middle east with David.

  4. Christine Says:

    Maybe it will be safer to visit Iran with this deal now.

  5. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    I would love to visit Jerusalem. You can have Iran and the rest of the MIddle East..

  6. Tom Sightings Says:

    I know Iran has a great history and a great culture; but I don’t know if it’s safe for an American to go there now. I like the idea of an Iran deal; but again, don’t know much about it so can’t really judge if it’s a good one, if it will really keep the Iranians from developing a bomb — and if it could maybe (that’s the hope, isn’t it?) encourage them along the path of peace and moderation.

  7. Linda Reeder Says:

    I am in favor of the Iran deal – it’s a step in the right direction, and better than refusing to talk at all.
    Traveling to Iran would make me nervous, not so much because of the Iranian people, but because of the proximity to danger in that part of the world. But, oh, the Persian culture and history would be wonderful to explore.

  8. Denise Alexandra Says:

    I hope you get to Iran. The Persian culture is rich in history.

  9. Olga Says:

    The Cradle of Civilization–it has to be worth seeing, right. I have met some men from that region who were very aggressive and uncomfortable to be around. I know I shouldn’t caste the entire region in the light of limited experience, but I have to say I don’t have any real desire to go anywhere in the Middle East right now.

  10. Hattie Says:

    I’ve known several Iranian men and women, and no two of them were alike in looks or personality. One of my favorite professors was an Iranian man.

Leave a Reply

