What we like to do

Every morning, David and I go to our CD cabinets and choose a classical CD to listen to. I enjoy Mozart piano sonatas and Corelli violin sonatas, whereas David prefers symphonies composed by Tchaikovsky and Mahler. He likes lots of brass and woodwinds; I like quiet strings and piano.

We also attend the Hawaii Symphony Orchestra concerts as well as the Hawaii Opera Theater productions once or twice per month.

The Hawaii Symphony Orchestra at the Blaisdell Concert Hall in September 2014:

Symphony 003-A

Click on the photos to enlarge them.

Then, there are sports. Lately, we have been watching golf and football on TV. We root for golfer Jason Day when he makes a successful putt. We agonize when the University of Hawaii football team loses big-time to the likes of Ohio State and Wisconsin. And we always follow the vagaries of Tennessee Titan quarterback Marcus Mariota’s performance on the field.

I also like to try new recipes in the kitchen, and David is a willing guinea pig. We go out to dinner periodically. Last night, we dined at Ryan’s after the symphony concert. We also have friends and family over for a home cooked meal.

My family in April 2015 in my home:

April Party 011-A

Once in a while, we tour art exhibits, and when we see a painting we like, we buy it.

This is a colorful oil painting we purchased from Jenny Lee in December 2014:

art show 002-A

It hangs in our dining area:

Jenny Lee 017-A

David and I always manage to have a good time.

8 Responses to “What we like to do”

  1. Linda Starr Says:

    What a great family photo, I miss the symphony, I like Debussy and Tchaikovsky. You two have a great routine going.

  2. DJan Says:

    It sounds like a very full life for the two of you. I know you always manage to have a good time. 🙂

  3. Olga Says:

    It sounds as though you follow your passions and that results in a satisfying life style for you both.

  4. Hattie Says:

    Music was once my great pleasure,but my ears are no good any more and most music sounds like screeching and squawking,alas. It’s like being tone deaf.

  5. Kailani Says:

    sounds like a lovely life. You are lucky to have each other. 🙂

  6. Christine Says:

    You have a great life Gigi!

  7. Denise Alexandra Says:

    I love listening to the classics. Thanks for visiting my soup post by the way. I have made an added note on the end of my post as I went on an online search regarding to food safety.

  8. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Having a good time in retirement is very important! Go for it

Leave a Reply

