Decision and other news

mariposa-1-a1

Pat, me, David, and my mother at Mariposa Restaurant (2009).

Thanks for your comments on the preceding blog post. David and I discussed the situation and have decided to end our rental business. We have enough in savings to last around 25 years. I will be 94 by then, if I live that long.

Should we need more money than anticipated, we can always open our home again to another tenant. We hope that doesn’t happen, by golly. We just have to economize to make the money last.

In other news, I have already emailed my Thanksgiving party invitations, because some of my relatives have to work and need to reschedule their hours, if necessary. So far, 12 people have said they will be here.

We plan to have cocktails at 12:00, lunch at 1:00, and watch an old family video (year 1991) at 2:00 pm. I don’t want the party to drag, so I’ll try to keep to the plan.

Too bad my mother (age 99) and my sister’s husband (age 65) won’t be here, as they passed away in March of this year.  They will be missed.

9 Responses to “Decision and other news”

  1. DJan Says:

    I think you have made the right decision about renting. And I am sad for you that your mother and brother in law have passed.

  2. Kailani Says:

    kudos to you for having enough funding to get you through the next 25 years. Super impressed.

  3. Joanne Noragon Says:

    Good for you. Decisions that feel comfortable are the best.

  4. Christine Says:

    Sounds great Gigi! Thanksgiving will be here before you know it. We celebrate next weekend in Canada.

  5. Reginald Baker Says:

    “We have enough in savings to last around 25 years.” Are you building inflation into this calculation?

  6. Olga Says:

    You are such a planner and organizer! Thanksgiving seems so far away but I know it will get here faster than I think. It always does!

  7. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Sounds like a wonderful plan. You are so energetic and keeping the family together…good for you!

  8. Beatrice Says:

    Glad to read you made a decision regarding the rental, and it seems that it was the best one for you with all things considered. The holidays are coming in quickly and you are so organized already

Leave a Reply

