Conversation with Pat

flowers and mom-3-A

My mother, me, and David at Islands Restaurant in Honolulu (October 2009).

David and I had lunch at Town Restaurant in Kaimuki last Tuesday. Our sister-in-law Pat treated us. It was very nice of her to do so.

Among the topics we discussed was her up-coming trip to Italy in November. She and her children will spend two weeks there, touring the country by motor coach, staying two nights in each city.

I think it’s simply wonderful that she has the ability to do this. More power to her.

I remember spending two weeks in London and two weeks in Paris during the month of November in 1969. It was cold and rainy. If I were to visit Europe again, it would be during late spring or early summer, when there are flowers everywhere. It is so depressing to travel during the winter, when everything is so stark and bleak.

But, that’s just my opinion. Pat is traveling in November, because there will be fewer tourists and young children running around.

In December 1969, I spent two weeks in Rome and Vatican City, three nights in Florence, and three nights in Venice. It was fun, though very cold. I would have loved to see Pompeii, which is on Pat’s itinerary.

Anyway, it was pleasant conversing with Pat over lunch last Tuesday. David and I will reciprocate by inviting her to dinner at a nice restaurant in a couple of weeks.

10 Responses to “Conversation with Pat”

  1. Olga Hebert Says:

    Dinner and conversation make for a very pleasant evening.

  2. Joanne Noragon Says:

    How wonderful to travel. I hope your sister in law has a wonderful journey.

  3. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Just curious, but I would like to know if Pat is using Elderhostel? They have some fabulous tours. I have no interest in Venice, especially in summer, but would love the see Pompeii.

    I’ve traveled in all seasons and it depends what you are after. When I traveled to the Netherlands one winter from December 26 to January 12, I mostly toured the fabulous museums and art galleries. The year I was in Amsterdam in 1989, the Van Gogh museum was hosting a retrospective of his work..the first in 100 years, and maybe ever, as he was not so popular when he was alive, I spent days in that museum.

    I traveled in Enland in all seasons, and recall spring got to be boring with gillyflowers everywhere. As we traveled from city to city, I grew tired of the same old look. I love gardens, although I am a perennial garden aficionado, and they peak in midsummer in England. Saw Sissinghurst in October and it was still beautiful after a frost, proving that a great garden looks good year round!

    Anyway, I hope Pat and her kids have a great time. It’s mostly fun to travel with younger kids…I.e., in their early teens. Older and much younger kids can be a pain in the behind.

  4. Grannymar Says:

    Good company, nice food, a long chat and at the end just walk away with no clear up or dirty dishes to take care of.

  5. Christine Says:

    I’ve been to Pompeii, but it rained when we where there unfortunately.

  6. Hattie Says:

    Sounds good. She will travel in comfort.

  7. DJan Says:

    It sounds like a wonderful trip, no matter what time of year they are going. I hope it all works out well, and that you will let me know how it ended up. 🙂

  8. dellgirl Says:

    Good that you had a nice visit and lunch with your husband and sister-in-law. It is always heartwarming to enjoy time with loved ones. I came by just to wish you a terrific week. I’m wandering around visiting friends, saying hi and hello.

  9. ohmygoodnesssakes! Says:

    We are still having endless summer in this part of Washington state, it is lovely, but can feel the crispiness in the evenings, but no precipitation and no rain and no snow in the mountains! We waited 36 years for heat and 2014 thru 2015 we got it, and humidity too..It blasted us like a volcano, hot as could be but after 36 years we welcomed it..It is still endless summer, makes for lovely days and nights even at the coast of Washington..We would love to go to Hawaii but the prohibitive food costs and all touristy stuff doesn’t do it for us, but we love the islands a lot it makes us happy and we find it calming on the other islands, Aloha to you and have a wonderful week ahead..ciao and peace!

Leave a Reply

