Dragon Fruit

Yesterday, my neighbors gave me these Dragon Fruits from their yard:

Dragon fruit 003-A

I cut one in half and shared it with David:

Dragon fruit 005-A

It tasted sweet and melted in my mouth.

As you can see, Dragon Fruit is a type of cactus and must not be over-watered.

These neighbors, who immigrated from the Philippines and purchased the house next to ours a few years ago, have been very nice to us lately.

They gave us Hayden mangoes and as a courtesy to us, they pick up the leaves that fall from their plants into our front yard. They even cut back their guava tree when they noticed rotten guavas in our yard. And they did this without being told to do so!

I guess I will give them squash from our patio fence one of these days.

This is how we are. We like to reciprocate. When people are nice to us, we are nice to them, too.

7 Responses to “Dragon Fruit”

  1. Linda Starr Says:

    I had dragon fruit once, it was delicious and beautiful to look at too.

  2. Joanne Noragon Says:

    What an interesting fruit.

  3. DJan Says:

    That is sure a strange looking fruit. I’ve never seen one before.

  4. Denise Alexandra Says:

    A lovely exchange. I was very interested in the dragonfruit. I see them at our local Asian supermarket but have not bought one yet to try as I wasn’t sure how to prepare it. I am glad you posted about your neighbor’s exotic looking fruit. I shall buy them next time we go to the supermarket. Thank you Gigi.

  5. Hattie Says:

    Hmm. I had Dragon fruit once and found it tasteless. Maybe it got too much water.

  6. Olga Says:

    Dragon fruit is a new one for me. I need to get out more! Having good neighbors and being good neighbors, that is how it should be everywhere.

  7. Christine Says:

    what exotic fruit growing next door!

Leave a Reply

