Is a party better with no music?

tsunami cats-kitty-A

Kitty, 2010.

I was listening to a CD on my Bose sound system, when David entered the room, sat down, and began to read his iPad.

David: “This music is so irritating. I can’t focus on the iPad.”

Me: “This is wonderful operatic music by my favorite composer, Puccini. But, if it irritates you, go ahead and switch it.”

David: “Here, isn’t this better? Music by Johann Strauss.”

Me: “Yeah, I like Viennese waltzes. Maybe, we should play this CD at our next party.”

David: “This was party music in Europe during the 1800s. Do you really think our guests would like it in 2015?”

Me: “We can at least try. If they say, ‘This is awful music,’ we can always switch to Hawaiian music. Or we can opt for silence.”

***

Is a party better with no music?

10 Responses to “Is a party better with no music?”

  1. Joanne Noragon Says:

    To each his own, as they say. I like no background music, the better to talk to and listen to people.

  2. DJan Says:

    I also much prefer the silence than trying to talk over the music. 🙂

  3. Gwen Says:

    See, you are nicer than me. I would’ve told my husband ‘well, I was here first, and enjoying the music, so if you don’t like it, you are free to go somewhere else.’ LOL (I’m soooo bad.)

  4. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    I’m not the best person to comment. I grew up with classical music, Both parents played the piano, and mother was our church organist. Mom was mad for church music, Dad for Jazz.

    I can’t stand orchestral music on a home sound system. David loves it. Chamber music is much better, although I seldom listen to it any more. I can’t stand Viennese waltzes. I love Chopin, and all the Bachs. I also like opera arias on my car radio.And Abba. I bought a Toyota because it has a supurb sound system and the construction of the car blocks street noise.

  5. Denise Alexandra Says:

    If it is very quiet in the background I enjoy background music but we often don’t play music when we are having dinner with family or friends. As for when we are on our own Gregg likes to watch his sports and there is more sports on the TV than music playing.

  6. Christine Says:

    It can’t hurt to try the music! I notice when I go shopping they play music…likely music that relaxes you and encourages you to buy!

  7. Linda Reeder Says:

    And my hearing loss worsens, I am increasingly irritated with background music. It’s too hard to hear conversations.

  8. dkzody Says:

    I never play music so I am not the person to answer this question.

  9. Hattie Says:

    Music always draws my attention so it’s a distraction in social situations.

  10. Olga Says:

    I am not a multi-tasker. If I want to listen to music, then I am just listening and not doing anything else. Very soft music in the background is okay if I can shut it out when someone is talking to me.

Leave a Reply

