The gateway to old age

Yup, here’s another photo of us at a restaurant: (left) sister Sylvia, sister in law Pat, me, and David:

Alan Wong's 005-A

Click on the photo to enlarge it.

We were at Alan Wong’s on King Street last Wednesday just to break bread with people we love.

The food was so outstanding, I have decided to celebrate my 70th birthday there in January. After all, my 70th is the gateway to “old age.”

My previous birthday party, celebrated at Keo’s Thai Cuisine in Kapahulu, was my 40th, the gateway to “middle age.”

After my 70th birthday, I will celebrate my 100th, which will be the gateway to “eternity.”

Anyway, that’s the plan. Who knows what will happen in the future?  I might drop dead tomorrow, for that matter, and there goes my 70th birthday party.

Sylvia and Pat are widows. My other sisters are divorced, so I am the only one in my family who has a husband.

My life is far from perfect, but I am so grateful for what I already have: a husband, a house, and a wonderful family to break bread with.

Let the good times roll.

12 Responses to “The gateway to old age”

  1. DJan Says:

    I went through the “old age gateway” almost three years ago now, and I sure don’t feel any different! I kind of like it here in my eighth decade. I hope you do, too. 🙂

  2. Olga Says:

    laissez le bon temps rouler, oui, oui!

  3. Christine Says:

    Lovely to get together will family, and here’s to 70 years!

  4. Grannymar Says:

    Age is just a number and you are after all as young as you feel. I find that if you sit around home your problems fill the space you are in. If you go out and meet people you soon learn there are others out there with far greater problems. Live for the day and let tomorrow take care of itself!

  5. Gwen Says:

    Age IS just a number! Glad you are so happy. 🙂

  6. Tom Sightings Says:

    A house, a spouse and a wonderful family to share your life with. It looks to me like you DO have it all!

  7. Linda Reeder Says:

    I threw myself a big party for my 70th. It was great!

  8. Cathy Says:

    Another one here with the number 7 introducing her age – and as others have mentioned they are just numbers. It’s how you live and feel that hold the clues to your age. Live well – live happily – live long 🙂

  9. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    70 is a good age to get to many are denied it..You are very very fortunate in Hawaii to have a home, food and a loved one to enjoy each and everyday..We have read that Hawaii has one of the highest homeless camps on the main island and they bulldozed over them giving them an hour to gather their items they owned, wow whee, in paradise there is such poverty..Guess the rich could not tolerate nor the hotels the homeless camps, it is that way in many rich cities in California and new York also, shameful..No wonder many people don’t think to vacation on the main island at all anymore..Well enjoy your 70th in January, you are so fortunate and blessed over other citizens living in paradise, happy birthday early!

  10. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Indeed. Les Bon Temps Roller. Mr French isn’t so good, but we love good times also.

  11. Denise Alexandra Says:

    Yes, let the good times roll and how lovely it is to spend time with family and friends at a restaurant.

  12. Hank Chapin Says:

    Make it 80. Since I’ve been looking around, 70 seems quite young basically. The skin tells the story.

Leave a Reply

