This would be a wonderful world if…

hanauma bay 035-A

hanauma bay 011-A

I took these photos of Hanauma Bay in 2012.

Gone are the days when David and I would snorkel at Hanauma Bay. Having had two surgeries to remove suspicious moles from his back and left forearm, David has refrained from exposing himself to harmful rays from the sun.  It’s okay with me, as I have no desire to be outdoors, either.

Also gone are the days when I tried to change the world. I used to think that engaging in anti-war protests would lead to world peace, but of course, it has not.  Where there are people, there will always be hatred and war.  Why hasn’t God, if there is a God, brought love and peace to the world?

So, David and I mind our own business and try to live a good life. Do you see us looking over our shoulder, wondering when the cops are going to nab us?  We are not criminals.  The last time I broke the law was when I blocked the intersection on Piikoi Street during the 1990s.  During the 1970s, I jaywalked on Beretania Street.  Yup, I paid the fines.  Other than that, what laws have I broken?  We pay our taxes and bills on time.  We don’t have creditors or the IRS banging on our door.

There will always be poor and sick people, no matter where you live. This has been the case since the beginning of time.  We do our part by donating money to charities, so that these organizations can help the downtrodden for us.

If everyone would do the same, what a wonderful world this would be.

10 Responses to “This would be a wonderful world if…”

  1. Joanne Noragon Says:

    I remember a person who picked a fight with me that I simply walked away from. Turned on my heel and left. Later she “apologized” by hugging me and saying “we can get along!” I replied “I do get along.” She has attempted many such arguments since. Because I must work with her I can only avoid her when she’s feeling evil. That’s how the world is–some of us get along, some of us don’t.

  2. DJan Says:

    I too sometimes wonder why there is so much strife and war in the world, but I guess I won’t know the answer to that question until I am no longer here on this plane but have gone. Maybe I won’t know why then either, but I can always hope. I’m glad David has a chance to swim anyway, even if it’s not snorkeling. Exercise is important to me, too. 🙂

  3. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    As long as people have hatred for others they do not understand and hatred in their hearts we will have wars, strife, homelessness and poverty, it is the way of life I guess..I can only speak for myself to try to make this world happier and for people to have some food and comfort and also I am an advocate against domestic violence my entire life..I adore animals and older people I am one of those older people now..I try to send out to the universe peace and love not hatred at all, aloha & peace and joy to you and yours!

  4. Tom Sightings Says:

    Well, being human, we always want more, and so people compete for more power, more influence, more money, more status, etc. All that’s okay, I think, as long as we do it with civility and not violence. The only cure for this human quality, I believe is … retirement.

  5. Olga Says:

    I used to think I could help change the world. Maybe I still do just a little…it would be great if everyone just thought the same way I do about things. Unfortunately, I have learned that we have to let others just be wrong sometimes. 😉

  6. Christine Says:

    Here’s to elusive world peace Gigi.

  7. scenenotspoken Says:

    We live our lives very similar to you, Gigi. We try not to hurt others, contribute to local causes, volunteer when needed.

  8. Hattie Says:

    I would like to see public institutions that promote the general welfare, that we pay for out of our taxes. I would like to see taking care of people removed from the realm of charity and made part of what the government (that we pay our taxes to) provides to all people.
    Call me a dreamer, but I’m not the only one!

  9. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Well our options are limited, but as a wise person said, if we all light one little candle what a bright world this would be.you and David are good citizens.

  10. Denise Alexandra Says:

    Living a good honest life and helping our neighbor/people who need it, is a good way to go.

Leave a Reply

