Where are those former co-workers?

Back in the late 1980s, my law office manager invited the staff to a Halloween party at his home, which was being renovated.  With the addition of a few artificial cobwebs and skeletons here and there, the house looked spooky and eerie.

Here we are, David and I, dressed in witch and clown costumes:

Glenda David-Halloween 1988-A

We had a great time.  How I miss those parties, when we forgot work-related stress and took the time to enjoy each other’s company in an informal setting.

I retired in 2001, and David retired in 2014.

As retirees, we can finally be ourselves and don’t have to prove anything to anyone.  We are what we are and nothing more.

It’s such a relief not to have to scramble out of bed at the crack of dawn, deal with rush hour traffic, and experience the disappointment of being passed over for a raise or promotion.

But, that doesn’t mean we can’t appreciate the good times.

And, by the way, where are all of those former co-workers?  We don’t socialize with them anymore.  They have disappeared from the face of the earth, and I can’t even remember their names.

Gone with the wind!

8 Responses to “Where are those former co-workers?”

  1. Linda Starr Says:

    you’ve reminded me of one co worker who said they wanted to keep in touch but then never did even if I called them; go glad I don’t have to dress for work, don’t think I could afford the clothes nowadays. Ha. I remember I once dressed up as a skyscraper for Halloween in San Francisco. Ha.

  2. DJan Says:

    I am glad for Facebook, because I can keep in touch with former coworkers and old friends who have scattered to the winds. 🙂

  3. Joanne Noragon Says:

    I bet we all find we drift away from work acquaintances, although my oldest, longest and best friend I met at work almost forty years ago. The excption.

  4. dkzody Says:

    My dearest friends are from my work life. Actually, I have no real friends except those that I made through work. I count the sisters who live next door as friends as well as neighbors, but that’s it.

  5. Christine Says:

    too bad you lost touch with those co-workers, pre-Facebook I guess! Nice photo.

  6. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    I am in touch on Facebook with a few of the workers from my last job. If you want the contact you cn probably find some of yours on social media.

  7. Olga Says:

    People come and go in our lives. Only a few remain constant through time and that takes some effort on both sides. You and David seem to have an excellent connection with extended family though.

  8. Beatrice P Boyd Says:

    We also agree that retirement is wonderful, Gigi. As for keeping in contact with former coworkers, I have tried and been able to keep in contact with a few from several past workplaces. But it takes effort on both sides and sometimes people don’t reciprocate. It’s much the same with former neighbors in the several states we have lived in.

Leave a Reply

