Blog friends from around the world

India Kavita Ruprekha 008-A

David and I dined with blog friends, Kavita (and her brother) and Ruprekha, in New Delhi, India, in 2012.

Dianne, Denise 003-A

We also dined with blog friends, Denise and Dianne (and their husbands), in Washington, D.C., in 2013.

hattie, kay, hank, terry, art, chip 005-A

And we dined with blog friends, Kay, Hattie, and Hank (and their significant others), at my home in 2012.

***

A bright spot in my life these days is the opportunity to write short essays and post photos on my blog. It really is a lot of fun to make something out of nothing.  I sit down at the computer and before you know it, a new post has been written.

Typing a post is so much easier for me than playing the piano. Once my post is finished, the typing stops.  Whereas with the piano, I would have to practice my scales and arpeggios ad nauseum.  Ugh.  I am so glad my musical career is over.  I sold my violins and piano quite some time ago, and definitely don’t miss playing those instruments.

Further, blogging is so much better than writing books. As you know, I published three memoirs and an anthology and grossed $8,000 from book sales.  I also was paid $900 for writing newspaper columns, and I spoke on the radio as a monthly commentator.

I get no money from blogging. Yet, I love the immediate feedback.  I enjoy reading comments from readers, and I like seeing my blog statistics, which reveal which countries readers come from.  It amazes me that people in Russia, Ireland, Germany, India, Australia, Japan, Brazil, Canada and many other countries read “gigi-hawaii.”

I have even met some of those readers in person.

Ah, well, one fine day, this blog will come to an end and I will start a new endeavor.  Who knows what or when?

9 Responses to “Blog friends from around the world”

  1. Linda Starr Says:

    If only we made money on our blogs we’d be rich wouldn’t we, sorry I missed meeting you, perhaps one day

  2. DJan Says:

    I have met a fair number of fellow bloggers now, and it certainly is a wonderful way to keep my writing skills current. I would miss it terribly if I stopped, so I don’t see that happening any time soon. 🙂

  3. Joanne Noragon Says:

    I, too, would miss blogging. I’m glad people stop by to read.

  4. Christine Says:

    I see some people posting ads on their blogs and make money from those…

  5. Denise Alexandra Says:

    That was a great memory meeting you and David, Dianne and her David, in Washington DC. I hope we can do it again when we come to Hawaii for our 40th anniversary. Blogging has certainly opened up the world for us, something I enjoy so much.

  6. Leisha Says:

    I’m from Australia and I really enjoy your blog Gigi. It will be a dad day for me if you stop blogging,

  7. Leisha Says:

    That was meant to say sad day rather than dad day.

  8. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Never stop posting Gigi, it would make the world a darker place. I cut back to twice a week, because I have so much to do these days. Who knew retirement could be so busy?

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    I enjoy blogging too, and writing comments on other blogger’s posts also provides me with opportunities for writing.

Leave a Reply

