How tall are you?

alumni-15-A

David (6’1″ tall,) former UH basketball coach Bob Nash, Sr. (6’8″ tall), and me (5’1″ tall).

I thought you might get a kick out of that photo just to show you the discrepancy in height.  It was taken in 2010 when alumni were given a tour of the University of Hawaii campus.  David and I are UH alumni.

Anyway, I have always been impressed with tall men.  I think they have the advantage in moving up the ladder to success, because we normally equate height with power.  Of course, there are exceptions.  Many doctors are short as are many attorneys.  But, in general, tall men have the advantage over short men.

I remember applying for a job as a flight attendant in 1968, the year I graduated from UH.  I thought that this would be an easy way to see the world.  But, after my height was measured, I was told I was too short to be a flight attendant.  Damn!  I was devastated!  Nevertheless, I went on to circle the world by myself and lived to write about it in newspaper columns, books, and radio commentaries.

Tall or short, one still needs a brain to accomplish anything worthwhile.

11 Responses to “How tall are you?”

  1. Linda Starr Says:

    five foot two, eyes of blue, Gary is six foot two, ha

  2. Linda Starr Says:

    oh I have heard that tall people get paid more than short people, I believe it

  3. Grannymar Says:

    I am five foot seven, that is me. I do not agree with the last line in your post. In my book, to accomplish anything worthwhile, a person needs determination and persistence in pursuing their chosen path. There are many out there with more letters than a alphabet after their names, yet they are unable to use or share their knowledge.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      What you say is true. Persistence and determination help one to become successful. However, many musicians fail because they lack talent. No matter how hard they practice, they fail to make it to the stage.

      Brains, talent, persistence, determination, height — every bit counts!

  4. Diana Says:

    Many doctors are short as are many attorneys. 

    You are very observant Short people are shrewd and work hard. One of my nephew is short, and his father is devasted(when the nephew’s bones already hardened). The father took the nephew to see a doctor wishing something can be done. The doctor said “there is nothing wrong to be short, I am short” The father told me that he was hoping his son has an easy life, implied one need to work very hard to be a doctor.

  5. gigihawaii Says:

    President Obama’s daughter, Malia, is now as tall as her father — 6’1″ tall. Wow! Let’s see what she decides to do with her life.

  6. DeniseinVA Says:

    I guess Napolean was an exception at 5ft 6in, but that was an average height back in those days.

  7. Christine Says:

    Yes brains definitely top the desirable list!

  8. Olga Says:

    I am 5’5″ but I for some reason think of myself as very tall. I am surprised sometimes to see a group picture and realize once again that I am not tall. For instance, I always thought of myself as being the same height as my friend Donna until someone snapped a picture of us standing side by side. I only come up to her shoulder.

  9. dkzody Says:

    Gigi you and David are like Terry and me, a foot apart in height. I’m 5’3″ and Terry is 6’3″. Yet, we can dance together beautifully.

  10. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    At 5’8″ I might have been the right height for the job of flight attendant, but am 5’5′ now I AM SHRINKING.

Leave a Reply

