Sharp mind or fuzzy thinking?

2-20-10-sunrise-A

Hawaii:  Diamond Head is in the distance.  Photo by Ted Trimmer.

One of the reasons I like to blog is that it stimulates my brain.  Recently, I awoke thinking that it was Tuesday.  When I looked at the date on the newspaper, I was surprised to note that it was Friday.  My goodness, I hope I’m not senile.

David’s father had dementia, starting in his late 70s, and his mother had Alzheimer’s at age 85.

My mother had dementia, also, but my father did not.

Lately, I have been forcing David to be more specific when he refers to someone or something.

David:  “Hey, that guy was at the gym last night.”

Me:  “Does that guy have a name?”

David:  “What’s that guy’s name?  Hmmm.  It’s Mark.  He wants me to meet him at that place for lunch.”

Me:  “Does that place have a name?”

David:  “Hmmm.  I think it’s Chili’s in Waikele.”

Me:  “You know, David, you keep saying you have a sharp mind.  But, your thinking tends to be sloppy and fuzzy.  Please, be more specific, organized and less vague.  Memorize names.  You don’t want to end up like your parents with dementia.”

***

I don’t know if memorizing names will prevent David from developing dementia, but it certainly will be less frustrating to listen to him.

As for me, I must keep track of time.  The trouble is that all the days seem alike.  Tuesday?  Friday?  What’s the difference?

13 Responses to “Sharp mind or fuzzy thinking?”

  1. Snoskred Says:

    There is a face/name recognition game on Lumosity which I am pretty good at. 🙂 I’ve been brain training there for some time now and I have noticed a lot of improvements in my brain as a result. 🙂

  2. DJan Says:

    I know my days of the week because I do different exercise classes on different days, and there’s always Thursday hikes. But I get confused when we have a holiday and everything seems wrong! 🙂

  3. Olga Says:

    Blame it on “fall back” run amok, messing with your circadian rhythm and all that. Of course, maybe you do not have to put up with it being dark at 4 o’clock in the after noon.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Hawaii does not have “fall back” and “spring forward,” as we hold to standard time throughout the year. But, I know what you mean about messing with one’s circadian rhythm.

  4. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Use it or lose it, they say. My David does the same thing, uses indefinite descriptiors in place of specific adjectives.
    I think its a male issue. Perhaps it gets worse with age.

    We are both forgetful, which is “normal” for any age. One of my Mom’s favorite expressions was “Use your head for something besides a hat rack.” It pays to exercise your brain and body. David is better with his body, me with my brain.

  5. Christine Says:

    I have trouble with the days, date also, it really helps to read the paper every morning. There is a difference between dementia and Alzheimer’s isn’t there, I tend to lump them together. I think my mom has dementia.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Yes, there is a difference between dementia and Alzheimer’s. Google for more info. Alzheimer’s is definitely worse, because it means you can’t identify members of your family.

  6. Linda Reeder Says:

    The first thing I do when I wake up in the morning is decide what day it is. then I think about what I have planned for the day. Then I get up.

  7. Tom Sightnigs Says:

    We should all try to keep our minds active. But, really, it’s not that important what “that guy’s” name is, or what day of the week it is. I think we all need to relax a bit about this issue.

  8. Denise Alexandra Says:

    I have noticed that since retirement days seem to run into each other. I sometimes think like you and get confused about certain days.

  9. Kay G. Says:

    I know some very good advice at remembering names…but I can’t remember what it is! LOL.

  10. Beatrice P Boyd Says:

    It’s understandable to not know the day of the weekmor even the caldmear date when we no longer have a regular routine like work or school. Sometimes, I also have that problem. It’s not that we are not busy, but often out routines vary especially with recent road trips to my late mother’s home in NJ and our own former VA home. Once we get both houses sold, time management hopefully will be easier.

Leave a Reply

