Loving our lifestyle in Hawaii

4-4-10-rainbow over ala moana-A

Rainbows in Hawaii.  Photos by Ted Trimmer.

4-3-10-rainbow-A

I feel so sad about the carnage in Paris, France, where so many innocent civilians died at the hands of terrorists.  I hope justice is served eventually.  And I also hope that Hawaii continues to be a place of peace and harmony.

We have been preparing for our Thanksgiving party here in our home.  We expect 16 people, all bringing their favorite food to share with other guests.

This year, I decided not to roast the turkey, as it’s not my favorite thing to do.  My sister in law, Pat, has ordered the turkey and all the trimmings from a Waikiki hotel.  I plan to make the rice, pasta salad, green salad, shrimp and zucchini stir-fry, and chips and salsa.  Other guests will bring vegetarian dishes and dessert.

Yesterday, I previewed a videotape that David made of our housewarming party in 1991. We will show it to our guests.  Imagine: It’s been 24 years since we purchased this house.  I think everyone will enjoy seeing our nieces and nephews when they were so young in 1991.  It’s hard to believe they are in their 30s now.

And so it goes.  We love our home and our lifestyle in Hawaii:

Our home 008-A

10 Responses to “Loving our lifestyle in Hawaii”

  1. Linda Starr Says:

    time does fly by so quickly thanksgiving is a time to appreciate what we have now for sure

  2. Olga Says:

    You do have a beautiful home. I will have both my children home for Thanksgiving this year and that makes me happy.

  3. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    A lovely, airy spacious place. Enjoy!

  4. Joanne Noragon Says:

    My sister quit the turkey years ago. My brothrt-in-law sulked for a few years.

  5. DJan Says:

    That’s a wonderful way to have turkey and without the fuss! 🙂

  6. Gwen Says:

    :: hugs ::

  7. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    I would love to join you and your family, instead I send warm greetings, peace and joy..I would order a turkey and the trimmings from a supermarket all one has to do is warm it up, it would save my back and my foot which is aching since it is raining in the pacific northwest a lot..I love to bake and cook and would make many pies and salads and desserts, a feast for all who come to our table!! My prayers to those in Paris who have family and friends who perished, Hawaii is a peace loving paradise why can’t more places be like the place you live, that is why most inhabitants live longer and happier and healthier lives, everyday is a paradise with sunshine and blue skies and love and peaceful human beings living in Hawaii, happy holidays and keep yourself happy and healthy and your husband too aloha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. Hattie Says:

    Happy Thanksgiving, wherever you are!

  9. Denise Alexandra Says:

    Your home looks lovely Gigi, and your upcoming Thanksgiving Celebration sounds wonderful. I haven’t had to cook a turkey in many years, as we always have celebrated with our family.

  10. Lovie Says:

    You could certainly see your expertise within the work you write.
    The arena hopes for more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to mention how they believe.

    Always follow your heart.

Leave a Reply

