Medley of topics

6-1-10-waterfall-A

Water scenes of Hawaii.  Photos by Ted Trimmer.

5-30-10-Dwight at Rockpile-A

Just a medley of topics for today’s post.

Salmon recipe:

Salmon Salsa and Mayo 002-A

I enjoy browsing through cookbooks, and a recipe for salmon caught my eye.  I have made it three times, and it is delicious.  It involves mixing 1 cup of salsa (drained through a sieve) and 1 cup of mayonnaise.  Add about ½ teaspoon of cumin.  Then slather the mixture on your salmon fillets.  Bake uncovered for 20 minutes at 350F.  So simple, but so good!

Private art collections:

I like going to people’s homes and looking at the art on their walls.  It’s a lot of fun.  I prefer large, colorful oil paintings.  But, watercolors are nice, too.  I admire artists, because I don’t have any artistic talent.

Travel vicariously:

David:  “I like to watch reality shows that feature foreign countries (e.g., Amazing Race, Survivor, House Hunters International).  No need to travel and subject ourselves to terrorists and bombs.  Just watch TV.”

Me:  “Yeah, it’s sad that we can travel only vicariously, now.  It’s a dangerous world we live in.”

9 Responses to “Medley of topics”

  1. Linda Starr Says:

    definitely dangerous, in even our big cities, I cant’ imagine traveling to many foreign countries, the travel channel will have to do

  2. Joanne Noragon Says:

    The salmon looks good!

  3. Olga Says:

    I struggle with wanting to travel and a level of fear about the state of the world at the moment. The salmon looks/sounds very good.

  4. Hattie Says:

    With all the guns around I don’t think the U.S. is particularly safe.

  5. Tom Sightings Says:

    All true. I esp. like your comment about how you admire artists, because you don’t have any artistic talent. I feel the same way.

  6. Christine Says:

    your salmon looks delicious! I love house hunters too.

  7. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    The world is a dangerous place, but I would travel anyway. Dont let your travel plans die. With me its $$. Hard to spend it now!

  8. DJan Says:

    I will still travel nationally to visit family. And every time I say I’m done with international travel, something comes up that allows me to do it. But these days… 😦

  9. Cathy Says:

    There’s an aussie saying that goes like this – Don’t let the b’astards get to you.
    Who is say you will be subjected to terrorists or bombs – do what you want to do – your time will come whether you plan it or not
    Cathy.

Leave a Reply

