No iPhones or Samsung Galaxies

12-5-10-17-beach-A

Scenes of Waikiki Beach.  I took these photos sometime ago, while David drove the car.  Not bad, considering I took these shots through the car window, using a Canon Power Shot camera.

12-5-10-16-beach-A

David and I don’t have iPhones or Samsung Galaxy smart phones.  We use flip phones ($15.00 at Walmart) for emergency calls in the car such as when we need roadside assistance.  Sometimes, David calls me up at the store to ask about a certain item I want him to buy.  Other than that, we rarely use our flip phones.

Our landline telephone is our main method of calling.

We certainly don’t use flip phones as cameras.

And, if we need the Internet, we simply use our computer.

As you can imagine, we save a fortune by not paying exorbitant monthly service fees.  In fact, we pay TracFone.com only $7.00 per month for each flip phone.

Nice.  Very nice way to cut unnecessary expenses.

13 Responses to “No iPhones or Samsung Galaxies”

  1. DJan Says:

    I love my iPhone. And the camera is better than my Canon PowerShot, by far. Using it as a phone is way down the list in what I use it for. And we no longer have a landline. Our costs are reasonable because we have a senior discount. 🙂

  2. Joanne Noragon Says:

    Everyone in the house has a flip phone, except me. I could go back–maybe.

  3. Olga Says:

    I have an android smart phone, which I am using more and more no that I live in an area that actually has service. Even so, family and friends are forever rolling their eyes at my lack of investment in having that thing attached to my hand at all times.
    I do not have a data plan. I just use my wifi connection at home so it is not so expensive. And I just recently uninstalled several apps that I really don’t use because I think they are plain silly.

  4. Gwen Says:

    I just got my 2nd iPhone (a windows phone was in between), and you’ll have to pry it from my cold dead hands. We got rid of our land line about 4 years ago, and sure don’t miss it. I hardly ever make phone calls. In fact, I’ll go so far to say I hate making and receiving phone calls. I’m a visual/tactile person. I do not use a cell phone at a dinner table, though, and I don’t carry it into the bathroom, and I don’t take many selfies at all, so at least there is that. I use it as my alarm clock, my pocket calendar, to look up things fast on the internet, to get the name of the song playing on the radio, to easily, weighlessly take great photos, to contact my oldest grandson, to keep in touch with friends, to check on scores, to check the news or the weather, or for traffic sig alerts. I use it as a flashlight at night, as a magnifier with a light on it at a restaurant. I play slotomania for free or read a book when I’m waiting like at a doctor’s office.

    But, if you are happy with the lack of such in your life, more power to you, Gigi.

  5. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    We don’t have cell phones however the landline is getting high now, in our city in Washington state the fire and rescue cannot get to you to help you without a landline and to tell you the truth I see people walking with cellphones, tripping over themselves, talking loudly in the movies which they are asked to leave and people in grocery stores giving their life history in the stores really, I think cell phones should be for e/r only and for people on liver, heart, lung and other transplant registry..Our world is becoming a zombie like existence of people attached to phones and the young people don’t even know how to write a paper or write a letter anymore at all, many of my friends were teachers now retired, the cellphones disrupted their classes and made the kids have illiteracy (their words)..oh my goodness sakes alive! aloha in paradise!

  6. Grannymar Says:

    Since I live alone and have a heart condition with no relations for over 100 miles, a good reliable cell phone is important to me. I do drive and many times it is out in the country with not a house for miles. What if I were to have problems with my car? My Samsung smartphone, not alone allows me to make contact with the emergency services, it provides a GPS position for them. This all allows me to lead a normal life. If used properly, modern technology can be very beneficial.

  7. Christine Says:

    I am addicted to my iphone!

  8. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Sounds good. I’ve been thinking of switching but we have FIOS and get our TV, computers, land line, and my cell in one bill. I worked for Verizon, so I have always used their system. In the old days everything was free. I have several cameras, some really good one from years ago, but mostly I am too lazy to get out and take a photo. So I enjoy others photos.

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    Funny. I just posted about my smart phone. I love it! It is expensive, but it is also entertainment!

  10. DeniseinVA Says:

    We were tired of our landline phone. The bills were always so high for the amount of calls we made and every time it rained there was always cracking on the line. Thunderstorms it would cut out entirely. That and the fact they were never able to fix the problem made our decision easy. Get rid of the landline and stick with our cell phones. I love my phone for taking pictures. They are much better than my point and shoot and the colors are much more vibrant.

  11. dkzody Says:

    My iPhone 5s is my third iPhone. Terry inherits my castoffs. We both love our smart phones and can no longer imagine life without them. I often laughed, years ago, that I was the last person in America to get a cell phone. Saw no need for one as I hate to talk on the phone. Well, I seldom use my cell phone as a PHONE. I use it as a computer. I even write my blog posts on my iPhone.

  12. Beatrice Says:

    You have made some ingeresting points about cell phones, Gigi, and I enjoyed reading the previous comments. We too have smartphines after many years of flip phones. Unlike many others, we also have a land line which is the number we give out vs our cell numbers. You are right about the added cost, but then we don’t pay for any TV services, so we save costs in that area.

Leave a Reply

