Ten years from now…

Ballroom dancing-1995-A

The good old days when David and I could dance.  This photo was taken at a hotel in Waikiki on New Year’s Eve many years ago.

A friend of mine told me about her elderly parents’ declining health and what was done about it.  She said that the family hired a live-in caregiver, who cooked and fed meals to the parents, bathed them, cleaned their house, did their laundry, etc.  All this in exchange for free room and board and a monthly stipend of $5,000.  My friend’s mother had Alzheimer’s Disease, and her father was also disabled.  They died recently, within six months of each other.

I think the free room and board and monthly stipend of $5,000 to take care of two people was a bargain, when you consider that my mother had to pay $8,500 for a semi-private room in a nursing home.

I have been thinking of my future.  I probably will be independent for the next ten years and maintain the status quo for myself during that time.  I will be able to drive, cook, write, and enjoy my life as I always have.

David, on the other hand, will undergo two more surgeries on his hip and knee, so we will have to wait and see what effect they will have on his lifestyle.

Ten years from now, will we need assistance?

11 Responses to “Ten years from now…”

  1. Linda Starr Says:

    I’ll be happy if I get another ten years, If either of us need help, we’ll be out of luck, no children, no grandchildren, no rich relatives and no money, we play the scratch off lotto occasionally, maybe we’ll win, ha

  2. Grannymar Says:

    I prepare for the worst, but hope for the best and so far it has worked!

  3. Joanne Noragon Says:

    You may surprise yourseves.

  4. Tom Sightings Says:

    How could you possibly improve on Grannymar’s approach?

  5. Gwen Says:

    Yes, when we looked into it, in-home care was about half the price of assisted living. The one thing I warn is to be very sure you/parents are set up with a living trust, that all bills are mailed elsewhere, that money and checking accounts/banking are handled by others. Despite bonding, there are some unscrupulous people out there that get into this, become trusted friends, and then steal the elderly blind. 😦

    Still, this is the way we will go with my mom when the time comes.

  6. Hattie Says:

    Gather ye rosebuds while ye may. Don’t let apprehensions about the future spoil your happiness. It’s always a shipwreck in the end, but anything after age 65 is gravy, as far as I’m concerned.

  7. Christine Says:

    It is really something we should all plan for!

  8. Chong Says:

    Buy long-term care insurance! Call me for quotes!

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    We are at that stage in life when we begin to think about those things too. But while wondering, we are doing what we can to stay healthy.

Leave a Reply

