Rain, rain, go away

3-4-10-RAINBOW-A

More rainbows in Hawaii (Ala Wai Harbor).  Photos by Ted Trimmer.

3-7-10-waikiki yacht club-A

It’s been raining so much lately that my yard has not been draining properly.  There are puddles of water everywhere.  I turned off the sprinkler system and will keep it off until the yard is completely dry.

I hope the weather clears up by Tuesday, when I plan to shop for groceries.  After all, my Thanksgiving party is on Thursday, and I am expecting 16 guests.

I should not complain, though.  Isn’t rain better than drought?

My blog friend, Hattie, mentioned that Hilo on the Big Island is very wet, also, and they have to deal with mosquitoes that cause Dengue Fever.  If she wants to work in her garden, she has to cover up with clothing and use repellent.

Ah, Hawaii.  Is this paradise or what?

8 Responses to “Rain, rain, go away”

  1. Linda Starr Says:

    we’re down to 25 this am, we’ll probably have a turkey thigh on Thursday; don’t envy you all the cooking but nice to have guests to serve.

  2. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    We actually got some rain and snow in the mountains in the North Cascades in Washington state, we are very thankful…Just because you live in paradise is no assurance of sunny & blue skies moisture has to go someplace…Hope your turkey day goes very well, it is just me and the hubs, I volunteer for a food pantry, cooked so much food and peeled so many spuds I am done with turkey, ham and pork for many years, we are going to the movies and sandwiches I can assemble easily and hot soup it is dry but cold as can be, plus my friends gave me a huge cheesecake from a great bakery for a gift for the holidays, it is already portioned out so we are good to go! Aloha for you and your hubs and may your days always be filled with love, affection and many thanksgiving wishes!

  3. Christine Says:

    it wasn’t long ago you guys were in drought!

  4. DJan Says:

    I hope the rain stops soon. We are supposed to start getting more any minute now. 🙂

  5. Linda Reeder Says:

    You’ll no doubt be sending your rain to us.

  6. DeniseinVA Says:

    Hope it stops raining in time for your shopping trip. Happy Thanksgiving!

  7. Olga Says:

    Happy Thanksgiving. Enjoy your family and friends. I am sure you will make your own sunshine for the day.

  8. Hattie Says:

    We will have Thanksgiving with Terry’s cousin and husband and friends, as usual.
    Wishing you a happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

