Thanksgiving 2015

Thirteen of us celebrated Thanksgiving in my home.  It was nice to see everyone, mainly my sisters and sister in law and their offspring:

DSC00789-C-A

Here’s my dining table, which was extended to hold all the food we brought.  I forgot to photograph the food, but, trust me, every inch of that table was covered with food:

Thanksgiving 2015 012-A

Here’s a close-up of the Fuji Mums I purchased at Foodland.  I love the yellow, green, and brown flowers:

Thanksgiving 2015 009-A

It’s too bad my grandkids were unable to attend, as they went with their father to his uncle’s party.  However, my daughter, Maria, celebrated the holiday with us.

Before our meal, we stood in a circle and had a brief moment of silence in memory of my mother and brother in law, who passed away in March.  Then, we all sang “Happy Birthday” to my sister, Sylvia, and my niece, Shanna.

After we had lunch, we watched a family video, which was taken in 1991.  Everyone enjoyed it so much, they wanted a copy of the video.  We plan to give it to them at our Christmas party next month.

Isn’t this what it’s all about?  To party with family?  I think people without family must be very lonely.  I truly believe that blood is thicker than water.  You can always rely on your family, but not always on your friends.

10 Responses to “Thanksgiving 2015”

  1. DJan Says:

    A fine looking group. Our family was small, just my guy and me, but it was truly wonderful. I know the rest of my family were enjoying themselves, too, from their Facebook pictures. 🙂

  2. Tom Sightings Says:

    Sounds poignant and wonderful. We ourselves had seven for T’giving, with two “missing” family members.

  3. dkzody Says:

    i’m glad your family could all come. I beg to differ about family vs friends. I can count on my friends; my family, not so much. The only close family I have left are my sister and her kids yet I never see them. They all live in the same town, but we never see one another.

  4. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Well here’s a friend who wants to be reliable. We made it down to the farm and back and David is asleep in his chair today! Nice family gathering.

  5. Christine Says:

    I love your flowers! Thanks for sharing your wonderful holiday!

  6. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    My husband is the oldest of 8 kids one died after he was born a tiny baby, after my husbands Mother passed in December 2000 that was it for anykind of relationship with anyone anywhere..It is just my hubs and myself and our only child in NYC who we speak to daily, we see her often she flies out to Seattle and we rush to be with her..I disagree family is really not thicker blood than friends, my Mom died when I was very young and I was close to my Mom’s family then they all passed by the time save my aunt her only sister and sibling at 21..My friends and I are closer we are like family not my blood relatives, I think whomever loves and cares for a person is their family..But I do understand your feelings, Hawaiians are the most connected peoples they truly are, they live longer, are happier and kinder to their families not so on the mainland here in the USA so I say be sweet loving and kind to all people we are all of God’s children..Aloha sweetie pie in the most peaceful and long living state of Hawaii, you do your family and ancestors so proud! You are sweet kind and loving it shows in your thinking and peaceful kind nature, aloha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. Cathy Says:

    Even tho’ you all live local to each other it is nice for you all to get together – especially to celebrate your ‘special day’

  8. Hattie Says:

    Looking good! I suppose it might seem that people without large extended families might feel lonely at holidays. We are quite happy with our mixture of friends and family that we socialize and celebrate with. There were a dozen people at our Thanksgiving. Only one was a relative, and several had no family living nearby. We had fun!
    We will have children and grandchildren with us at Christmas,and I am looking forward to that.

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    So glad your Thanksgiving was successful and that you enjoyed being the host. Showing the family video was a hit!

  10. Beatrice Says:

    It was wonderful to read about your family’s holiday get together. We were also fortunate enough to be able to spend Thanksgiving with my brother and his family after many years of not spending the holidays together. And so I agree that being with family is wonderful, but we have also shared past holidays with a table full of friends who were also without their family. So holidays to shared with both family and friends can be full of good times.

Leave a Reply

