Great way to earn extra cash

top-2011-2-us-A

David and I dined at the Top of Waikiki Restaurant (October 2011).

***

Every now and then, a representative from Ward Research or Q Mark Research calls and asks David if he would be willing to participate in a focus group. When he says yes, the representative asks him questions to see if he would qualify.

It can be quite lucrative. A month ago, Ward Research paid him $70, fed him deli sandwiches, and validated his parking ticket.  In return, he discussed what he thought of Hawaiian Electric Company.

Last Wednesday, David participated in a focus group about Kaiser Permanente and Medicare. He received $125, parking validation, and light refreshments from Q Mark Research.  After the discussion, he used part of that money to buy us lunch.

Isn’t that a great way to earn extra cash? All he has to do is show up and talk, something he enjoys doing.  He also likes to hear what other participants in the group have to say.  And the session lasts only 90 minutes.

I used to be a participant, myself, but stopped when it got tiresome. I am not a talker.  I prefer to read and write, whereas David prefers to talk and listen.

11 Responses to “Great way to earn extra cash”

  1. DJan Says:

    That’s a nice way to make a few extra dollars. I don’t think they have them around here much. Or at least I never hear of them. 🙂

  2. Hattie Says:

    That actually sounds like.fun. I can see how David would be good at that.

  3. Linda Starr Says:

    I need to check into that, but if I have to drive to Atlanta, no thanks

  4. Olga Says:

    I never heard of anything like that, but it does sound like a good way to make a few extra bucks, especially for a talker. I am with you, though. I think I would rather write than talk.

  5. Joanne Noragon Says:

    Like you, I couldn’t be bothered. Even for the money.

  6. Christine Says:

    It sounds like fun for David too! I have done a couple of these a long time ago…it’s fun getting paid for your opinion!

  7. DeniseinVA Says:

    That does sound like fun and I very nice way to earn some cash. I have never heard of this before. I don’t think my personality would do well though, as I prefer to be quiet and listen but I know Gregg would enjoy this. He got used to talking in front of people with his job.

  8. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    My David might enjoy that if he could remember anything. Great way to express yourself.

  9. dkzody Says:

    I like doing these marketing research surveys and interviews. The company here in town will only allow you to participate about once a year, and the demographics don’t often match with me, so I don’t get to participate as often as I would like. I could do one of these every month, whether they paid me or not, but they do pay very well, in the form of a credit card, usually $100.

  10. tom sightings Says:

    A great retirement job!

  11. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    We both participate the money we use for dinners to our favorite Thai restaurant and fun things, mostly the coast. We live near the largest city in Oregon and we get to participate quite often..I take the bus into town and I am compensated I would never ever drive to that city..Parking went up to nearly $3.00 an hour the place to do the focus group is not in a great part of time, my hubs get Saturday morning focus groups and takes the car and I sit in the car and read and we park in a part of town that has free parking if you get there earlier enough and go to dinner or lunch and enjoy ourselves, they are usually in main cities and demographics are up and down..good for you and your husband!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

