Getting along in Hawaii

In June 2014, I posted these blog photos of my front yard. It was strewn with dead leaves and rotten guavas from my neighbor’s guava tree:

plants 002-A

plants 003-A

I was so tired of picking up those rotten guavas, because they left a sticky sap on my hands, and I did not enjoy raking the dead leaves.

I hired a handyman to cut the overhanging branches and take them to the city dump. Our neighbor saw the lopsided tree, so she cut the remaining branches on her property.  The trimmed guava tree is in the middle of this photo:

neighbor's guava tree 001-A

Not a word was spoken. Our neighbor tried to make peace with me.  She gave me mangoes and dragon fruit from her garden.  I reciprocated with chocolate chip muffins, which I had baked.  I asked her what her name was, and I told her what mine was.

To top it off, she now picks up the dead leaves that her other plants drop into my yard. My front yard is clean because of her efforts.

Again, we did not discuss any of this verbally. I did not go to her door and yell at her regarding the mess in my yard.

It was like mental telepathy, and it was reciprocal.  I am happy.  She is happy.  We are at peace.

This is how it’s done in Hawaii.  If we didn’t all get along with one another, there would be war on this tiny island.

5 Responses to “Getting along in Hawaii”

  1. Christine Says:

    what a wonderful outcome! I like your style Gigi.

  2. Olga Says:

    A wonderful example for the entire world to follow. Wouldn’t that be wonderful?

  3. c werk Says:

    Wow, like Ho’oponopono in the old days.

  4. Hattie Says:

    We have come to terms with our renters in a similar way. It’s to our mutual benefit to get along.

  5. Beatrice Says:

    It’s nice that all worked out well for both of you, Gigi.

Leave a Reply

